We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbecue Kitchen

Barbecue Kitchen
273 Tranquille Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2B 3G2, Canada (North Shore)
(250) 376-0333
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 286 Restaurants in Kamloops
Cuisines: Barbecue, Chinese
Neighborhood: North Shore
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North Shore
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great food, garlic dumplings and bbq pork fried rice is amazing. A nice family run business. Don't let the storefront scare you away, its worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Barbecue Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Authentic Asian cuisine. Large food portions and good service. Pricing is average. Sometimes service can be a bit slow but still acceptable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“out of the way but excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I love this little restaurant and the husband and wife who run it. They are sweet and accommodating. The food is absolutely awesome, I love the curry triangles and the garlic dumplings, any of the chow meins, well, all the food I have eaten there. It is not fancy, but very clean. The prices are reasonable and the quality is always consistent we have been going there for years and will continue as long as they are in business. They also will do take out if you have a party or want to sit in front of a movie at home. This lady never forgets you, even if you do not come often, she even remembers what you like and does it for you. Love it, love it, love it.I am always happy to overtip because they are so kind and the food so good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lots of Choices on the Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a family dinner there prior to attending a musical performance. There were ten of us (6 adults, three teens and a hungry pre-teen boy) and that's always fun in ordering Chinese food and suiting everyone's preferences. We were told that the soups and dumplings were excellent. The person who waited on us was extremely helpful with choices and amount of food. Some of it was just wonderful and some of it we won't order again but that's a personal preference. The dumplings came with a sauce which was okay but we were used to pot stickers without the sauce. The rest of the meal except for the hot pot was very good and there was little left to take home. We liked the spicy salt prawn which were very spicy. The chow mien was very good. The soup was excellent! The food was hot and the orders were large. There is no atmosphere - it is a cafe and that's about it but the food was good, hot and fresh and the menu provided a huge number of choices. We will go back but make some different choices next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's all about the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The food is fresh and soooo tasty.
What a pleasant surprise.
A little hole in the wall with not the best decor, but it is all about the food!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbecue Kitchen also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Barbecue Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbecue Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.