We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat your tastebuds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salajai

Salajai
542 Tranquille Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
+1 250-554-5424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 286 Restaurants in Kamloops
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Treat your tastebuds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Though not sure when we first entered the restaurant, as the decor is a cross between western/canadian/asian, we continued on and were delighted with the food.

We started with chicken satay that were juicy, nicely spiced and came with a tasty peanut dipping sauce. We then tried the GANG DANG NOR-MAI (BAMBOO) Chicken, Beef or Pork 14.95
- Red curry with bamboo shoots, red and green peppers, carrots and basil, which has become a favorite and we order it whenever we go.

We also tried GRATIEM PIK THAI - Beef was our choice (other choices are Garlic/Black Pepper, Chicken, Pork) 13.95. -a full flavored meat dish on a bed of lettuce, w/ sliced cucumber & tomato on the side. This was nicely presented and the beef was tender and very flavorful.

The sides of rice et cetera are generous and arrived hot/ steaming.

We try to get one new dish on every visit and recommend it without reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were looking for some good Thai food, we read about it on Trip Advisor and chose it. We had Drunken Noodles, Red Curry, rice and hot sauce and shaker chilis (wow! Hot but so good). The service was not great, that's why I gave it a 4, but the food was worth it. I would try it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed in the attitude of owner.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The owner have me the wrong order, called me at home saying I took the wrong order when he handed me the wrong one and asked if we had opened it so we could bring it back. I also paid twice as much for the wrong order. Very, very disappointed in the owner and the way he handled the whole situation as he implied it was my fault. Doubt I'll go there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops, b.c.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very basic, cafeteria type setting, but neat and clean.
Ordered four different dishes, all very good. Fresh, crispy veges, lots of flavor.
Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cold rainy day so just right for Thai heat in a bowl.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Had two great curries and loved them both. One BBQ duck in red curry and chicken green curry just like in Thailand. Kamloops you are lucky to have this place!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salajai also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Salajai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salajai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.