We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quilas Mexican Restaurant

Quilas Mexican Restaurant
330 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A5, Canada
1 (778) 471-6364
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 270 restaurants in Kamloops
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Phenomenal!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Quilas is amazing!!! Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff and the food is beyond delicious!! Everything is made fresh daily and cooked to perfection! It was a lovely experience! The owner even came to our table and asked how everything was, when we told her it was phenomenal she said some of the recipes were passed down in her family! Delicious!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    126
    37
    5
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A weekly haunt while on business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you're here for business, with family, friends, or as a couple, this is definitely a must eat-at while in Kamloops.

I spent 8 weeks in Kamloops between October and December 2012 on business, and Quilas became the only restaurant that I would at least once every single week. The owner usually remembers your face if she is working after only one visit, and her nephew, who is either preparing the food or also serving, also goes out of his way to remember who you are, and what you've already tried.

Some of my personal favourites were the Tacos al Pastor, the Quesadilla, and the Tacos Pescado. Pretty much any dish that includes their hand made salsa or guacamole is sure to be a delight.

You'll receive warm, freshly made chips with their amazing salsa as soon as you sit down, which is definitely an added plus.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome home made Mecian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were driving through Kamloops because we live in Vic and work in Alberta. We were looking for Thai food and Google Maps brought us here. Thank god for us, the Thai place had shut down and Quilas was open. They opened the doors a little early so we did not have to wait outside. The wairess brought us tasty margaritas and we had the Mesa Guacamole, chimichanga and the Tacos de Alambre. The guacamole was delicous, the beef tacos were juicy and melted in your mouth and the chimichanga was the best we have ever tasted. It was soft, crispy, juicy and the chicken was cooked perfectly. Next time I am getting the beef chimichanga for sure. Every thing was frikkin awesome, she came and took our plates when we were done and asked of we would like anything else, we asked her about the fish tacos, then we ordered the fish tacos. Bam!!! Delicious, twice a month we now have a reason to go to Kamloops besides connecting to the Coquihalla. This trip now sucks that much less, thanks to Quila's.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great severvice and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We went out for a family dinner last night with our little kids who are 3 and 5.
Kids had a great fun coloring and picking their own meal, drink and desert from the kids menu which was one of the best I've seen. Our steak was very good and the service was excellent. The staff was very attentive of all of us and made sure everything was ok. We'll definitely go back and try other dished, yes with kids!! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Real Mexican Food In Kamloops!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you've ever been to Mexico and had good authentic Mexican food, you will appreciate Quilas. It is by far the best Mexican food in Kamloops and the service is amazing as well. They are very kind and obviously very passionate about their food, restaurant and clients. After only my second time at Quilas they already remembered me! A must visit for all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quilas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Quilas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quilas Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.