We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese, Great Service on Rogers way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Wok

Moon Wok
755 Tranquille Road, Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
778-470-5789
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 292 Restaurants in Kamloops
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
aurora
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Chinese, Great Service on Rogers way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A little leery of a Chinese restaurant amongst all these hotels.

Pleasantly surprised.

Clean surroundings; nearly new restaurant.

Food was excellent, fresh and tasty.

Service was very good staff friendly

dinners for one are enormous. (for 2)

inexpensive

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Tasty take-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Ordered the dinner for four, and after tax and cash discount it came to around 12 bucks a person, except there was really enough food for 6, a nice problem to have. Pretty standard selection with a lot of choices. Everything we had was hot and tasty, not too spicy or salty.

Our dinner included Beef with Mixed Vegetables, and we also selected Beef with Broccoli which was good but basically both dishes are the same so I would chose a different entree next time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country, north of San Francisco
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Between the TA reviews and backed up by our hotel clerk, we visited the Moon Wok for a late dinner. They are generous with their portions and so kept the ala cart orders to just three items; BBQ Pork Fried Rice, Oyster Beef and Chicken Chow mein. Overall the meal was acceptable but not exceptional. The fried rice was loose so forget the chop sticks. Non the less it turned out to be the most flavorful. (What was the special ingredient?). The beef oyster sauce was okay as well but they were skimpy on the sauce and it lacked the oyster flavor we expected. Last and least was the chow mein. The whole dish was bland as hell. (More soy sauce please!) I recommend trying the chow fun instead. Sorry for the "Average" rating but for a visitor I have no other choice based on just one visit and three dishes. It just lacked the "wow" factor. If I was a local I would probable give it another try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The chinese food is so good here. The ginger beef is our favourite. We usually share a dinner for one, it's enough food for two for sure. The service is always friendly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“basic food, and lots of it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A busy spot on the north shore of Kamloops. Basic chinese food with subtle flavours. Nothing we had was overly spicy or had a real flavour punch to it. There were 5 in our group and we ordered a dinner for 4 as well as a large Wonton soup. There was plenty of food - enough so that we had about a third of it packed up to take home. Service was friendly but a little disorganized. We got served some of our meal, and then the soup ... when our server informed us that there had been a mistake and we got food destined for another table (which had ordered some of the same dishes we had). The plates and bowls are a little tired (wonton soup bowl was chipped) and there was no offer of chopsticks.

The restaurant area appeared clean and it looks like it is a favourite of people in the neighbourhood. I would go again if in the area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Wok also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Moon Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.