We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious, locally sourced gourmet delights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TERRA

TERRA
326 VICTORIA ST, Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada (City Center)
+1 250-374-2913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 263 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Scrumptious, locally sourced gourmet delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I totally enjoyed our dinner at Terra on August 25, 2012. We decided to try the chef's tasting menu and were not disappointed with the range of flavours and the beautiful presentation of the food. Every dish was obviously prepared with the greatest attention to every detail. Each course was enjoyed with specific wine pairings - what a treat, rather than choosing just one type of wine for the entire meal! We even tasted a Kamloops-made wine! We appreciate the fact that the food is locally sourced and fresh. Our taste buds were treated to an amazing variety of healthy foods, carefully prepared! The server was attentive, friendly and showed how much she enjoyed working at the restaurant. We enjoyed speaking to the owners of the restaurant before and during the meal. Certainly, our food bill was not more than we would have spent at other fine dining establishments where we would have had run-of-the-mill dishes, prepared with nowhere near the care given at Terra! We recommend this chef-owned independent restaurant to all. You will be glad that you chose Terra!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    21
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
victoria bc
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NEVER COMING BACK!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

First off, let me be clear - I am not on Terra's staff, nor one of their relatives, nor one of their investors writing a disingenuous positive review. I am an honest real life visiting Kamloops patron. We went to Terras May 2012 and wasted $175 for 4 people!! Pittiful SMALL portions!! When the meals were served, I thought it was a joke - there was virtually nothing there. When I asked the waitress why such small portions, she freely agreed and asked if I would like a dinner roll to suppliment the meal. We are not large ravenous people, but rather trim, healthy minded individuals. Honestly, we ended up going to another restaurant right after to fill up. Believe me, if Terra's does not smarten up and start looking after patrons, they will disappear very quickly. (ps - I also give them a zero for ambience - nothing on the walls, and no atmosphere at all)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had dinner on August 1. The restaurant was not busy so had very attentive service. Ordered baby beet salad, braised lamb shank with mushroom risotto and the cheesecake. Beet salad was excellent, and the lamb-shanks were fork cutting tender. A superb meal. The chef even came out to explain how the meal was prepared, which was a nice touch.

Some may think the meal pricey, but you get what you pay for in this establishment. A bargain compared to Vancouver restaurants. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice find in this small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We tried this restaurant out based upon reviews here. The food was very fresh and quite good. If you want a relaxing meal rather than fast food-type restaurants in this small town, then I highly recommend it. It's a more modern restaurant than what you will find along the main street.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Seriously good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Kamloops is clearly expanding its fine dining opportunities. TERRA is located in what is fairly obviously a recently converted retail shop (clothing? shoes?) and has just celebrated its own first anniversary. We decided to try it for lunch and were very happy indeed. So much so that we'll be back for dinner the next time we're in Kamloops. The restaurant itself does not have the old character of either Felix on Fourth or Brownstone and while it is worth sitting at the front (or on the small patio area) for a view of the street, well, the street scene isn't Montreal or Vancouver. But that aside the dining experience itself I have nothing but praise for. The lunch menu is not extensive, running mostly to interesting sandwiches, soups and salads, but they do it well. I ordered a chicken sandwich with caesar and my wife had a lobster sandwich with the house garden salad, we split a mushroom soup. Sounds not very adventuresome but in fact it was all done very well indeed. In fact my wife proclaimed the salad to be among the best such she's had at a restaurant; a real eat every scrap of it salad. But the outstanding aspect of the meal was the service. In talking with the server we mentioned that we'd be sharing the soup and splitting our sandwiches to have half of each. First the soup came out to us in two bowls (and probably in more quantity than we asked for or were charged for), nice start. Then, when the mains came out, they had divided each sandwich and put half of each on the two plates with the separate salads. Very nice. During the meal the chef came out and talked with diners at each table, which was also pleasant. So I'd give first rate marks for that. Add to it a quite reasonable wine list and that great Crannóg's Back Hand of God stout on tap.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TERRA also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to TERRA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TERRA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.