We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Plaza Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All Inclusive
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Weston, CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Plaza Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just returned from a 5-night stay at the Plaza Hotel in downtown Kamloops, British Columbia. Originally constructed in 1927, the hotel has recently undergone a total renovation. Although my room was modestly furnished—albeit with a new flat screen TV and a small refrigerator—it was extremely clean; the bed and pillows were also very comfortable. The Wifi service also worked perfectly! The hotel boasts a full-service restaurant, which serves very good food. Most of all, the staff was extremely friendly and efficient, with a sincere desire to please.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sara

I would like to offer my sincere appreciation and gratitude for your support and rating us 5 out of 5 in all areas!

I really loved your comment "the staff was extremely friendly and efficient, with a sincere desire to please". This is us! All staff members including management are here to serve and please.

We will always look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel soon.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    147
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
49
165
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stay here often on business and have found it to be a great value. The rooms are small, yet tasteful. The free-wifi, free-breakfast services make this an easy yes. Being very tall, the only thing I wish was better (or bigger) is the shower. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. Breakfast is served with a smile and is good quality. The hotel location is very central to Kamloops, within walking distance of many businesses and post work-day watering holes. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Floors 4-5 are best. More quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear valued guest - powdergiant

Thank you so much for the Thumbs up! and I'm glad you enjoyed the added values. We offer an all inclusive stay and that what sets us apart.

Please keep us in mind for your next visit and we would love to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Kamloops for a couple of days to see family and decided to give the Plaza a try. It was a very good choice. The renovations are tastefully done, making it a nice physical location. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. While the rooms are on the small side, they have everything that you need for a good nights sleep The bed was very comfortable [we had a king bed] and all the amenities you expect from a boutique hotel were available. Of special note was the breakfast, which is included in the price of the room. There are two choices, expanded continental or a hot breakfast with eggs as the basic component. The food is individually prepared and a lot better than the usual "continental breakfast" found in most hotels.

All of this for a cost of under $100 per night - a great bargain.

We will certainly stay at the Plaza when we visit Kamloops again

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room on the back of the hotel and were not bothered by possible noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear valued guest - MusikAl

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our added values a great bargain! This is what sets us apart.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and please come back! We will be very happy to welcome you again to The Plaza Hotel.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is a rare find. We stayed overnight for a concert in town and were completely satisfied with our entire stay. The staff at the front desk were friendly and efficient on check-in and departure. The room was small but very clean and well appointed with a nice comfortable bed. The in house restaurant serves excellent food and our dinner was very good. The included breakfast in the morning was the best one I have ever seen at a hotel. It included absolutely everything. Juice, milk, coffee, tea, toast, bagels, eggs, bacon, sausages, it was hot and delicious. I would recommend this hotel to even the most discerning of travellers and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear valued guest - Rigger513

Thank you SO MUCH for your review and for rating us 5 out of 5 in all areas!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and saw the value in what we offer and that what sets us apart. Please keep us in mind for your future visits to Kamloops... We would love to see you again.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williams lake british columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza hotel in Kamloops for the first time Feb.7. What a pleasant surprise.It is a heritage builidng and has an older look from the outside. Once inside however it is fresh and clean. Very friendly staff and perfectly adequate room.This will be our place of choice whenever we stay in Kamloops from now on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Colleen

I would like to offer my sincere appreciation and gratitude for your support in making us your preferred hotel in Kamloops. We strive to have 100% guest satisfaction and we love it when we read comments like yours.

We will always look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had been booked into the Plaza through my work & at first wasn't sure due to the age of the building & size of their elevator(so tiny!).That thought soon disolved after sleeping in the "oh so comfy beds", the above & beyond service that the front desk,restaurant staff & chambermaids provided. I now love that little elevator,it's one of a kind! The location is great as well. So close to everything from cute little shops to every restaurant you could imagine plus the YMCA up the road which you can go to for free , all you have to show is your key. I stayed at this wonderful hotel on a weekly basis for 3days out of the week for an eight week period. I will miss them but will be back for sure & will also recommend them everyone I know. Thank you Plaza Hotel .

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs onto the alley as it is a little quieter that the other streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Kelli

Thank you for the great review... We really enjoyed serving you... and you became part of our family!

We miss you and we will always look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times now, and I'm always pleasantly impressed. I don't think I've ever paid more than $95 (often pay less), yet it compares to other hotels in the city that charge upwards of $120. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but small. Each room seems different from the last; a previous stay I was without a desk, this stay I had a desk but the bathroom was compromised. As long as you're aware of the tight quarters going in, you won't be disappointed.
The free breakfast served in the restaurant is great - only a few choices, but it's free and not continental! The free bottles of water and free calling to anywhere in the world (!) is a nice touch! You wouldn't expect a downtown Kamloops hotel to have some style and luxury to it, but it certainly does. My top place to stay in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear valued guest - Intotheworld7

I sincerely thank you for your support in making us your preferred hotel in Kamloops.

I am so glad you have enjoyed all the added values... and you are right about our free global calls!

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#7 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#7 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.