We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Peaks Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Peaks Ski Area

Sun Peaks Ski Area
Sun Peaks Road | Highway 5 North, Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 578-5474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Activities in Kamloops
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sun Peaks Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We visited Sun Peaks several times and I rank it ahead of Silver Star, Big White and Apex Mountain (in that order). Our accommodation was at Trails Edge townhouse (#4) and it was stunning. Private garage and hot tub and 5 minute stroll to village centre. The skiing is non-stop due to no lift lines and there are three different mountains that all funnel into the well-organized village (which is themed similar to European tyrolean style). We can't emphasize enough how much our family enjoys the accommodation, village atmosphere and diversity of ski terrain. We have skied everywhere in BC and Sun Peaks is our favourite overall.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“It's not Whistler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The resort feels like its brand new. Extensive ski trails. I gotta come back and ski Sun Peaks . . It sincerely looks awesome. There is a nice collection of hotels, condos, single family houses for rent and restaurants. There is not the Whistler vibe. Very few shops, little retail, etc. They do have a golf course. I was there in the first part of June, I thought the resort was closed . . Zero people . . I was there around 10am and was told many of the tour companies going to Jasper stay here for the night. Please don't get me wrong, the skiing looks great and the collection of buildings are great as well. Buttttt, do not come here thinking this a a small version of Whistler, it is not. If you are coming from Seattle, WOWWWWWWWW, its a great drive between Hope and the Resort, but if there is snow on the roads, add 2 or more additional hours to your estimated trip time . . The mountain passes . . Yes more than one!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great food around ski hill and fun. Summer entertainment up the chair lift to bb'q and music. Winter skiing is fabulous and good rates.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peak Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sun Peaks offers up some of the Best skiing in BC...Everything from Family to Personal Challenge runs in Champagne BC powder..The village has everything you need at a reasonable ski resort price..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Skiing, Fantastic Snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We took 2 beginners with us to Sun Peaks in March. What gorgeous conditions we had for them to learn to ski. The terrain is great, so many different kinds of runs. The whole experience was fantastic.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Peaks Ski Area also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Sun Peaks Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Peaks Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.