We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Fish Tikka” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spice

Spice
1-700 Tranquille Road, Kamloops, British Columbia V2B 3H9, Canada (North Shore)
(250) 376-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 286 Restaurants in Kamloops
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: North Shore
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North Shore
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Avoid the Fish Tikka”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stopped by here for dinner on our way from Jasper to Whistler. We had been touring the Rockies for about a week and were really craving some nice Indian food to liven up our taste buds.
We should have probably stopped when we entered around 8:45 pm and realized that we were the only party in the entire restaurant on a thursday evening ( later another group did showed ) but we didn't.
There was only a single server, though she did a good job for taking care of our meal.

The food did not taste bad at all but all of us felt quiet bloated after our dinner and that is not a good feeling to have.
The fish tikka though was quiet bad and quite chewey..probably had been out of water for a long long long time.

Long story short, if you are like us and passing through.. wait till Whistler or Vancouver to get your fix for Indian Food

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best of the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have eaten Indian food on three continents and Spice gets pretty damned close to topping the lot. I happen to like my curry really spicy - industrial strength if possible - and this is the only place that gets it right. Equally, they offer mild, medium and hot spicing that is always on the mark. The service is friendly and efficient, the portions are amazing, the menu is out of this world and again...the quality of the food is without doubt the finest! The lunch buffet is great if that's your thing - it's varied, everything is cooked to perfection and it's kept really hot (temperature wise) throughout the serving period. Seriously...if you've tried the rest - go on and try the best!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Surprising find and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were staying in the Holiday Inn in Tranquille Road, and were only in Kamloops for one night - we didn't find Kamloops a terribly inspiring town when driving through it, so the idea of waiting for a bus in 28C temperatures, or paying 20 bucks each way for a taxi to downtown didn't appeal, so thought we'd make do with a restaurant near the hotel in what's effectively a sort of industrial estate.

I'm from Leicester in the UK, which has a very large community from the Indian subcontinent, so we have fabulous Indian restaurants, and I tend to avoid them when abroad because they're never as good - so our expectations weren't very high.

The restaurant isn't very imposing from the outside - so we were very pleasantly surprised by both the choice and quality of the food, not to mention the prices, which were very reasonable indeed. I had the goat curry, which was lovely, and a naan bread. Good service, good food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible....bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

They served me veggie dinner combo which anybody could tell that it's not fresh...
I doubt if the daal and paneer was prepared the same day...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Superlative Indian food with just a few flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

You do have to hand it to this restaurant, as keeping a buffet fully stocked and delicious is an extremely difficult task, and they do it wonderfully. They very well may be the most attentive "refillers" of any buffet in the area as the pans are always full, and you never have to "scrape the bottom" of one to get your portion. The service is efficient and friendly, the restaurant is clean and orderly, and taste of the food is generally excellent.

There are some standouts as the pakoras curry is outrageously good, especially when you consider how few Indian restaurants in this neck of the woods ever offer this dish that is so popular on the subcontinent. I could literally fill a bowl with the raita and just eat it with a spoon, it's that delectable! The butter chicken sauce also completely stands out as easily the equal of the legendary Da Tandoor in Kelowna.

However, this brings me to the "few flaws" and they all center around texture. The naan is marvelously charred and delicious but is just a bit gummier and chewier than I'm accustomed to, and across the board the selections seem to be just too dry/overcooked. The vegetable curry is mush with almost no texture left. I don't know how Da Tandoor keeps its butter chicken from being overcooked while it sits in its sauce bath in the tray but Spice would be well advised to learn their secret. Their huge chunks of chicken are delicious but way overcooked to the point of severe dryness. Similarly the pakoras (in or out of the curry) are bone dry. Make sure that your water glass is always filled as you'll be gulping down a lot to get it down.

Overcooked or not, it's still a great buffet!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.