We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and Efficiently Run” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Saturday Night Special
Ranked #11 of 54 hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Central and Efficiently Run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Only overnight. Our room looked out on a roof top. It had a strange musty odour, but the room was clean and the central location was an advantage. When we took a wrong turn towards the restaurant we were informed that it had closed and the place was changing hands. It is a little 'tired'.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are always looking for areas to improve our service and product. This year we installed brand new windows that open, room controlled air conditioning, updated our games room and opened a new breakfast room.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    105
    50
    18
    5
See reviews for
64
93
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Travelling with two friends on Rocky Mountaineer. We had a huge family room at this hotel. Three queen size beds and a large lounge area. Only there overnight but it was spacious, warm and well appointed. Close to town centre and restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here even though it was a short stop-over. I love that room, lots of space for larger families to enjoy. We pride ourself being down town and close to everything for the train guests.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed there taking the Rocky Mountaineer to Banff. It is OK. smallish room, with alot cramped into a small space ( all the amenities for 4 stars). The Pub attached to hotel is a happening place. It was only one night, so not so bad, If you are staying more than 12 hours , you may feel a bit cramped.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here during your Rocky Mountaineer adventure. We have multiple room types to cater everyones preference, if you are ever back in Kamloops I would love to show you some other options.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Used by the Rocky Mountaineer to over night their Gold Leaf guests. A perfectly good, functional hotel on the main street in Kamloops. No complaints from what was a very limited stay.

Why is it that tripadviser insist on a minimum of 200 characters?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here during your Rocky Mountaineer adventure. I hope you got lots of photos and memories during your trip!!

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENTICTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying a night at this well located hotel. The room was clean, well appointed with a king bed but very cozy (tiny). The window looked out to a brick wall about a foot away that covered almost all of the window. All in all we would have been ok with the room had it been priced accordingly. Our opinion is about half of the $180.00 that we paid would have been about right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry the room felt too 'cozy', let me know when you are back in the area so I can personally show you multiple room choices that will better suit your needs. We really appreciate your comments.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were on the Rocky Mountaineer train, and had been warned that the hotels in Kamloops were not up to much. We didn't know which hotel we would be in until we got on the train, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was large, clean and well appointed, and the bed extremely comfortable. The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there is a good restaurant nearby, the Noble Pig. However, we would recommend eating at Frick and Frack, further along the road - great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here even though it was a short stop-over. We pride ourself being down town and close to everything for the train guests.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our Rocky Mountaineer trip and found the hotel to be very pleasant. We had a clean room with a big TV, a queen bed each and plenty of space for the cases.

The hotel staff were polite and well organised and able to answer questions about the local area with ease.

The hotel had a couple of vending machines which were handy for picking up some drinks and snacks as well as a large games area and a pool which we didn't have time to try but which looked perfectly nice.

We're planning a trip back to the area and would be more than happy to stay at the Thompson again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here even though it was a short stop-over. I am so glad that our staff made your stay comfortable! Next time you are looking to come back let me know so we can do something special for you.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 650 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Business Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, The Thompson Hotel is located downtown close to Interior Saving Centre, Kamloops Curling Club, Lake City Casino. Hotel amenities include; indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, business centre, games room and free breakfast. One on-site restaurant; The Noble Pig Brewhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.