We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 540

Save Saved
You added Hotel 540 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 540
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay and Save
Ranked #7 of 54 hotels in Kamloops
Orillia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a centrally located hotel to all the downtown local attractions. The front desk and maintenance staff are most accommodating with a genuine friendly approach. Rooms are spacious and clean with all the modern amenities. Recommend this as an excellent choice and would defiantly stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Recommend the club floor which includes hot breakfast and free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear GaryM,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you enjoyed our friendly team - and you gave a great tip ! Our Executive Club Floor is becoming so very popular, with some great value added essentials. Look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    132
    66
    13
    7
See reviews for
70
132
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

On arriving by train into Kamploops it was a pleasant change to enter into the hotel and our rooms were beautiful and cool - awesome. A very nice bar and restaurant area. there were renovations going on next door at the casino - didn't hear a thing they only thing was when you were leaving the hotel it was a bit congested.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear travellady007_11,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I hope you enjoy the train journey as much ! Yes our renovations are finally over ! and we have a beautiful new entrance to brag about. Our guests are now greated in a new porte cochere by a doorman, offering valet parking or assisting you as required. Hope to see you again soon !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went on a girls trip for the weekend to visit a friend. Overall the hotel was probably in line with other hotels in Kamloops. The location is nice because it is walking distance to some great places to eat. The hotel charges $10 for underground parking, which can be somewhat hard to navigate in - very tight spots, etc. While the room was renovated, the bathroom had not been and the toliet and taps were always making a lot of noise and leaking. We basically used the hotel as a place to sleep at night and it was great for that. I booked a few weeks in advance using the hotel website and received a rate of $129/night (for a standard 2 double bed room). The day before my trip, I checked the website again and the rate had been reduced to $119. I phoned the hotel to ask if they could please make the change on my reservation, but they were unable to, so I had to cancel the old reservation online and make a new one. A minor inconvience, but a very strange system and the response of the front desk staff was not customer service oriented. It can also be quite noisy on the street at night so if you like to have your window open at night, you might want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear bostonterrier17,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to you have return in the future, we have just upgraded our entrance and can now offer you valet parking along with an improved parkade (heated underground) experience. It sounds as though you were in a standard room - which does not yet have renovated bathrooms. Sorry to learn that you felt your stay was average...not what we are shooting for ! Should you wish to return, please give me a call - I would be happy to make your plans personally.

Kind Reagrds,

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Loved the fact that we had to pay an extra $10 to park the car. Hotel is beside a casino. Our room was very small, bed was okay. Bathroom was awful, drippy cheap Waltec taps and taps in the tub were almost impossible to open and close.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear CoraT96,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was sorry to read we did not meet up to your expectations. We do have packages that include the cost of parking (as well as breakfast and other items) as well as various room types/upgrades that are all priced accordingly -based on the requirements of the guest. We have a frequent room maintenance program to attempt to catch items such as a leaky tap or scuff in the wall proactively. My apologies that the room was not up to your, nor our own high standard ! I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future, if you do - please call me directly to assist with your arrangements personally.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had stayed at the Hotel 540 August 23-27.
Very impressed by the staff working at the hotel, from Front Desk, Housekeeping and Restaurant staff they seemed genuinely happy to to make our stay there a good one.
Even though renovations were being done it did not impact our stay, underground parking was a bonus. Had breakfast each day at the hotel which was very good as part of a bed and breakfast promotion that included underground parking at the hotel.
Air conditioning worked great we like a cold room at night and the A/C unit worked well with minimal noise.
Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and food was good what more do you need or want.
Lots of good restaurants downtown within easy walking distance from Hotel.
We will return again when we are in Kamloops

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear RobB,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased you scored us a 4 overall, but in service, cleanliness and Sleep Quality - a 5! This is what we strive and work hard for. I look forward to seeing you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunan, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Travelled in August 2012
Check-in was easy, no line-up.
The room was clean and spacious.
Beds were comfortable. Air conditioner quiet.
There was a little construction, but did not effect our stay in any way.
The only thing that was inconvenient was parking, as when we booked we were assured of underground, secure parking. Unfortunately we arrived late and were told there may not be secure parking. As we had paid for the upgraded package, this bothered me a little as the hotel is attached to a casino.
As it turned out, there was one available space left.
The included breakfast buffet was okay, your standard fare.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear GingerBakerDunan_BC,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your comments, and great to see you will be staying with us again. Thanks for choosing The 540.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel was selected for us by our tour provider. It was under renovation, the parts which have been redone are quite nice. Our room wasn't fancy, but all we were looking for was a good night's sleep, which we got.

We ate no meals here (too full from the elegant food on our train). Those who did were disappointed in both the food and the long wait and the poor service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Brewsmom.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to advise the new entrance work is just finishing. I agree it did impact the first impressions of many people - and we have seen that in much of the feedback and scoring from our guests. That said, we are sure the short term pain will benefit our guests in the future !

We look forward to seein you again.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Address: 540 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 540, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.