We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 540 to your Saves list
Hotel 540
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay and Save
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I spent only one night at the Hotel 540 after a very late arrival due to a breakdown while on the Rocky Mountaineer.l We arrived just on midnight and despite the fact the hotel was undergoing major refurbishment we were checked in very rapidly and shown to our room.
It was a pity the stay was only one night as our room was large, modern, fresh and very well appointed - much better than the rooms we'd had in Banff, Jasper and Lake Louise. I cant comment on the meals as we were back on the train the next morning for breakfast, but based on my limited expereince there I would recommend hotel 540 and would certainly stay there again given the oppportunity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear kingbolt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to see your comment on the exterior work - it will be great to have this completed later this month. It is going to add a great new dynamic to our hotel - that of a proper 4 star hotel entrance. In the interim, we are greeting our guests with open arms and smile. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    209
    88
    22
    10
See reviews for
122
199
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Like others we stayed overnight as part of the Rocky Railroad trip. Don't be put off by the exterior works that are currently being undertaken. Our room was spotless, big comfy bed and food in the restaurant was adequate.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in Kamloops over night as part of the Rocky Mountaineer trip. We were thrilled with the very large room, comfortable beds (and a choice of 2 beds). Situated within easy walking distance of the main shops and parks we were able to stretch our legs in the early evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Frances 1712,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. What an honour it is to get 5 out of 5 from such a well traveled contributor ! I am pleased you enjoyed everything about the hotel and our preferred location in downtown Kamloops. Hope you will be able to come back and stay again !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam /General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Like others, we were on the Rocky mountaineer train, so had just the one night in the hotel. Our room was lovely - we had a large comfortable bed ( better than previous ones in Calgary, Banff & Jasper ) also Huge flat screen tv & sofa. Can't comment on the breakfast, as we were dining on the train & didn't have much contact with the staff, but everyone seemed happy. All in all, probably the best hotel to go for in Kamloops, as it has a nice ambience & is right in the main street. We also got the Rocky Mountaineer cases which we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear forfarian,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to you enjoyed everything and found our team to be happy and enjoying all interactions. I will certainly take "best in Kamloops !" that is what we are striving for, and glad you enjoyed our central location. Hope to see you again !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a group just for 1 night. On approaching the hotel we were unsure about it as it doesn't look very sparkling from the outside. The lobby however is warm and inviting, the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

We had and enormous room with a great view of the mountains, however I found the room to be sparse and uninviting. I did get a good nights sleep though as it was quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable!

We had read good reviews about breakfast so decided to eat at the hotel. We were waiting 50 minutes before we were served but the staff were apologetic and kept us topped up with coffee. The breakfast was delicious it was a shame we had to rush it!

Overall, I was disappointed by this hotel as the website paints a much nicer picture than the actual experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear GreatAdventure0106,

Thank you for taking the time to share of your experience. I am glad our food and restaurant lived up to expectation - though I am sorry it took so long ! We did have a few group breakfasts arrive all at one due to the rock slide/train line closure last week and this pushed this circumstance. I was glad to read that the employees and service were very good in all areas. As you may have read earlier in these reviews were just finishing some exterior work, so our "packaging" will soon be as good as our inside experience !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Arrived late, left early; stayed as part of a package so have limited info on price etc.
We had a room on the top floor that was modern, clean, with a large comfy bed. It is on the main street so easy to access a wide range of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear MQ and MK,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I see it was brief - but all very positive. Unfortunately your 4s and 5s in the category scoring ended up a 3 overall..but nonetheless we thank you for your positive feedback and hope to see you again in the future

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I had a wonderful experience at the hotel. David and Joselyn at the front desk were fabulous, cant say enough wonderful things about those two. The staff that I dealt with were very helpful and friendly. It was a very pleasent stay and I would stay there again if I go back to Kamloops. Apparently the hotel is under construction but I did not notice any of that. I liked that you could not get on the elevator without a room key, my room was great. No complaints

Room Tip: Ask David....I told him what I wanted and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Charlene M,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience - and thanks for the perfect scores ! Our team will be very excited to read this. Glad Dave and Jocelyn were able to take such good care of you, our entire team strives hard with each guest we have. Many female travelers (in particular) but all guests seem to really appreciate our security features of key accessible guest floors as well as the gated indoor parking (we are the only hotel in town to have this). We look forward to looking after you again in the future !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Address: 540 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#2 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 540, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.