We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major changes in 2 years” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1N5, Canada (Formerly Kamloops Towne Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Websaver Booking Special!
Ranked #12 of 54 hotels in Kamloops
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Major changes in 2 years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Since my last review of this property almost 2 years ago there has been a major renovation to the hotel and more specifically the rooms. The rooms are now modern with the appropriate features you would expect in 2013. The beds are very comfortable and aside from a couple of housekeeping issues during my business stays here its definitely above average to very good for room quality. The restaurant continues to impress with servers that have always been friendly with a very comfortable setting for a very good meal and a drink.

A couple items continue to boggle my mind. First I would say NO improvement to the wifi at this property. It is slow or non existent in most areas of the hotel. These concerns are confirmed by other guests, front desk staff and restaurant employees. It's 2013...hooking up laptops to the LAN cable are just about over. If your going to renovate the entire hotel spend a liitle extra money to fix this as it can't take that much effort. Sometimes you need to roam the hotel corridors to find consistent signal.....very very very annoying.

Second the fitness centre at this property looks like a holdover from when the hotel was first built. In a claustrauphobic little room with a worn out universal gym and a couple exercise bikes. Many people business or other rely on some decent well lit fitness facilities while travelling...I hope this is on the list of renovations because it is in BAD need of one.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator....get a room further down the wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
It is great to hear that you came back to stay with us and enjoyed the modern comfort that we have invested in since your October 2011 stay. I will pass along your positive comments to our food and beverage team with regard to the restaurant. I understand that you had some issues with the internet. We have invested 10’s of thousands of dollars in upgrading our Wi-Fi as well, but we agree that it is still not optimum. We have just switched internet companies and their mandate is to remedy this for us quickly. Your second point with regard to the fitness centre was taken care of within the last month. We just renovated the gym, removed the washroom and added three more pieces of equipment to improve the options in your fitness regimen. We look forward to welcoming you back once again and hope to share a perfect stay with you on that occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    103
    33
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
54
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We choose this hotel because it was on of the few hotels we could find that had genuine 2 bedrooms hotel suites. It was also located close to shops and services that we needed.

After arriving in the early evening after nearly 24 hours of travelling from Australia, it was pleasant to be able to check-in with little fuss or issue.

We were a little surprised by our room, it was very spacious and well appointed but we were also at the very back of the hotel. We found this surprising when we had booked one of the more expensive rooms and it did not over-look the pool and indoor gardens.

The room had been recently renovated and found a few minor issues in the room which were quickly overcome with a call to the front-desk.

The most disappointing occurance during our stay was the following day at about 3:00pm when a staff member came out to the pool area and asked patrons in the pool (mostly a group of young children) to be quiet as there had been complaints about the noise. I was in the pool with our 4yo son and not party to any noise but I find it hard that a noise policy is in place for an indoor pool facility in the middle of the day.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay and if we should stay in Kamloops again then we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We appreciate your mid-February stay with us and you taking the time to let us know about your overall enjoyable stay. We are pleased that you appreciated the new décor and amenities included in our two bedroom suite. While we have spent millions of dollars upgrading every room & suite in the hotel, we are unable to change the location of the specific suites. Our pool hours currently extend to 10 pm, but on occasion our customer service team does receive a noise complaint if there is loud play in the pool. When this occurs they will politely ask the guests enjoying the facility to be mindful of other guests. For this specific date they recall a young lad teaching his sister to swim, and her screaming loud enough to be heard in the lobby. Please be assured we make every effort to balance the enjoyment of all of our guests stay with us. Thank you once again for staying with us after your long journey from Australia! We hope to welcome your family once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay, the room was very spacious, super clean and quiet. I enjoyed the use of the fitness room and hot tub and would certainly stay here again.
The conference centre could use a few upgrades but everyone was very helpful and I certainly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities. We agree that we have one more project to take on; upgrading the Conference Centre. We will be completing this project by the fall of 2013. We thank you for your time and business and look forward to sharing our latest improvements to the meeting space in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great hotel for business, clean, great restaurant, excellent area of town. The hotel has a nice indoor pool and conference facilities. The "gym" is just a converted room with a few pieces of equipment, no free weights. It is open at 6 AM which is nice. The beds are the nicest Ive ever slept in at a hotel. Great customer service. Overall a good comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our restaurant, comfortable beds, recreational facilities, excellent location and the cleanliness of the property. I am happy to advise you gym has been upgraded within the last two weeks, so on your next visit you will see we expanded the room by removing the washroom and added three more pieces of equipment for your workout program. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to see the newest updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was a little hesitant on arrival given some of the past reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. We only stayed one night and it was a very comfortable, clean and updated room. We had a great view over town and the snow tipped mountains of Kamloops. Staff at reception and in the onsite restaurant were pleasant.
We enjoyed our over night stay here and probably had the best sleep on our trip so far.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to stay with us and enjoy a pleasant stay. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back with our comfort, cleanliness and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel has gone through a big remodel and it shows. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the bed comfort was outstanding. The housekeeping staff were so friendly and helpful, they obviously took pride in their jobs because it showed in the room. My only crticism - I needed a razor as I forgot mine and they do not offer complimentary toiletries like so many hotels. I'm OK with having to buy them from their little store but what they were selling were like dollar store stuff, cheap and low quality, not good for shaving! If you are going to charge $ at least have good brand name products. Outside of that it was fabulous and I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your thoughts with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the multi-million dollar renovation to our guest rooms, lobby and the property overall. Our housekeeping staff is a great, hard-working team and a source of pride for the hotel. Thank you for recognizing them. I will pass along your comment with regard to the razors for sale in our gift shop to the supplier to see if we can see an improvement or variety in there for guests. We are pleased you had a fabulous stay and appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I ran a week long training course at the Conference Centre. The meeting room was excellent and the banquet staff were very responsive and were able to supply any AV, screens and all sorts.
We ate in the restaurant each day for lunch and enjoyed great views of the surroundings.

I was happy to find a great selection of beers on tap and at the same price as you would find in any other local bar.

The rooms were large and well put together. I used the pool and it was salt water (nice!!!!)
Breakfast was always quickly served and set me up for the day.

I liked it and will use Coast Hotels again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I really appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us. It is wonderful to share your kind words with our banquet servers, the chef and his team. We enjoy offering guests a facility that is well-rounded with recreation, meeting facilities, a restaurant and lounge as well as fresh comfortable new guest rooms under one roof. We hope to welcome yourself or your colleagues back in the future. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1250 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1N5, Canada (Formerly Kamloops Towne Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 9 million dollars in renovations completed in the Fall of 2013, this property offers a spacious, fresh full service property. This green hotel uses geo-thermal technology & is 4 Green key rated. The 202 room hotel features an indoor atrium/courtyard with natural salt water pools. Relax in the hot tub, exercise room or sauna. Convenient on-site cold beer, wine & spirits store. Located near shopping, theatres & restaurants. Fantastic dining in the hotel at Prestons Restaurant & Mama San Lounge. Sip something refreshing and enjoy the incredible city & river views from the patio overlooking the valley and the city of Kamloops. Complimentary parking, local calls, and wi-fi access, fridges and microwaves in every room at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Kamloops Hotel And Conference Centre
Kamloops Towne Hotel
Best Western Kamloops
Kamloops Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.