We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Smarty Pants Websaver!!
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Most comfortable beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great hotel for business, clean, great restaurant, excellent area of town. The hotel has a nice indoor pool and conference facilities. The "gym" is just a converted room with a few pieces of equipment, no free weights. It is open at 6 AM which is nice. The beds are the nicest Ive ever slept in at a hotel. Great customer service. Overall a good comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our restaurant, comfortable beds, recreational facilities, excellent location and the cleanliness of the property. I am happy to advise you gym has been upgraded within the last two weeks, so on your next visit you will see we expanded the room by removing the washroom and added three more pieces of equipment for your workout program. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to see the newest updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    139
    41
    6
    10
See reviews for
62
79
11
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was a little hesitant on arrival given some of the past reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. We only stayed one night and it was a very comfortable, clean and updated room. We had a great view over town and the snow tipped mountains of Kamloops. Staff at reception and in the onsite restaurant were pleasant.
We enjoyed our over night stay here and probably had the best sleep on our trip so far.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to stay with us and enjoy a pleasant stay. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back with our comfort, cleanliness and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel has gone through a big remodel and it shows. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the bed comfort was outstanding. The housekeeping staff were so friendly and helpful, they obviously took pride in their jobs because it showed in the room. My only crticism - I needed a razor as I forgot mine and they do not offer complimentary toiletries like so many hotels. I'm OK with having to buy them from their little store but what they were selling were like dollar store stuff, cheap and low quality, not good for shaving! If you are going to charge $ at least have good brand name products. Outside of that it was fabulous and I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your thoughts with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the multi-million dollar renovation to our guest rooms, lobby and the property overall. Our housekeeping staff is a great, hard-working team and a source of pride for the hotel. Thank you for recognizing them. I will pass along your comment with regard to the razors for sale in our gift shop to the supplier to see if we can see an improvement or variety in there for guests. We are pleased you had a fabulous stay and appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I ran a week long training course at the Conference Centre. The meeting room was excellent and the banquet staff were very responsive and were able to supply any AV, screens and all sorts.
We ate in the restaurant each day for lunch and enjoyed great views of the surroundings.

I was happy to find a great selection of beers on tap and at the same price as you would find in any other local bar.

The rooms were large and well put together. I used the pool and it was salt water (nice!!!!)
Breakfast was always quickly served and set me up for the day.

I liked it and will use Coast Hotels again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I really appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us. It is wonderful to share your kind words with our banquet servers, the chef and his team. We enjoy offering guests a facility that is well-rounded with recreation, meeting facilities, a restaurant and lounge as well as fresh comfortable new guest rooms under one roof. We hope to welcome yourself or your colleagues back in the future. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Coast recently moved into this facility and they are in the process. One side of hotel is finished and we booked 3 rooms, poolside for a special event recently. This gave us a window and door opening into a huge domed area that encloses pools, garden and Preston's restaurant. The newly renovated rooms are very nice including coffee makers and microwave and standing closet. The desk and drawers are large enough to accommodate computers and the TV and I appreciate this because I always unpack and put my suitcase away. New decorating is dark brown and warm and thankfully the new bathrooms are bright and white which is a must for me. Business center is centrally located and the wifi works well. All of the staff were friendly and efficient. I recommend this Coast.

Room Tip: If you need quiet and aren't interested in the pool I'd say to ask for a room facing the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay with us. Our multi-million dollar renovation to our lobby and the south wing rooms which you stayed in has been well received by our guests. I am happy to say that by the end of February 2013 our north wing will be available as well with exceptional style, comfort and warmth. We are happy to offer our saltwater pool and hot tub in the tropical atrium to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again with friendly and efficient service in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The new Coast Hotel in Kamloops is modern, clean and friendly. We had two dogs and the dog rooms were perfect. We will definately stay here again. It is too bad that it is in such a car dependant soulless suburban area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences of our property. We are within walking distance of a multitude of restaurants and Kamloops largest shopping centre, but I feel from your comments these are not the venues you may have been looking for. I wish we had directed you to visit a couple of spots within walking distance such as the local Aberdeen dog park or the local theatres. On the bright side it is wonderful you are planning a return visit and we hope to share these with you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan Lake, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years. Has changed owners several times. We were attending a multi company Christmas party on the 14th of December. We found the food to be very bland, no taste at all. Our room was very nice, except that it had been smoked in by a previous guest. When we checked in to our room there was a very strong smell of air freshener. I could still smell smoke although it was overpowered by the air freshener. When we returned to our room around midnight, the air freshener had worn out and there was a strong smell of smoke in our room. It was very late so we decided just to go bed. The next morning we complained to the front desk when we checked out. The lady at the front desk said she would pass our complaint on the the manager and she would call us later that day when she came to work. She called us later that day and stated that she had inspected the room and she could not smell any smoke and she would not do anything to compensate us. Normally we do not write reviews on local hotels, but we though we should share our experience with all of you. We will not stay at the Coast in Kamloops ever again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelatasker, Director of Sales at The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal at the multi Christmas party. Our catering team had very positive feedback from the clients who booked on behalf of each company this year when they followed up with them, so this is disappointing to hear. It is wonderful to hear you thought the room itself was very nice, as the wing you were in was completely refurbished top to bottom within the last year. I understand that upon your check in you let our desk know that someone smoked in your room despite our 100% non-smoking policy. The desk team also advised me you also believed the hallway smelled of smoke. They advised you were also concerned someone might make noise above you if you were not on the top Superior floor, so they ensured to put the room out of order above your room to avoid any conflicts. They offered to move you to another room at that point, or to move your items for you, but you advised that you were on too tight a schedule. We did have multiple staff members go to the room and inspect it and the hallway within a short time of your arrival and none could identify any smoke and then once again after you checked out and made mention of it once again. I see that your room was located on the front side of the building, so I am hopeful it did not make its way in from someone outside the building through an open window. In any case we are sorry to hear you do not intend to return and hope at some point you reconsider this decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1250 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Business Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 9 million dollars in renovations completed in 2013, the property offers a freshly updated full service property. This green hotel uses geo-thermal technology & is 4 Green key rated. Enjoy staying in one of the 202 spacious hotel rooms or suites which each include a microwave and mini-fridge. Rejuvenate in the indoor atrium/courtyard with natural salt water pools. Relax in the hot tub, exercise room or sauna. Convenient on-site cold beer, wine & spirits store. Located near shopping, theatres & restaurants. Fantastic dining offered in the hotel at Romeo's Kitchen & Spirits. Sip something refreshing and enjoy the incredible city & river views from the patio overlooking the valley and the city of Kamloops. Complimentary parking, local calls, and wi-fi are all included for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Kamloops Hotel And Conference Centre
Kamloops Towne Hotel
Best Western Kamloops
Kamloops Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.