We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not even consider!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trans Canada Motel

Save Saved
You added Trans Canada Motel to your Saves list
Trans Canada Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trans Canada Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2505 Trans Canada Highway East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 54 hotels in Kamloops
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Please do not even consider!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

As soon as I opened the door there was a TERRIBLE stench, lock on door and window was not secure, I did not feel safe, especially with all the strange people I noticed outside as I was bringing my belongings in. I was afraid to leave the window open to air out, not knowing what might walk by. I didnt want to leave my valuables in the car, afraid it would be broken in, but wasn't sure how safe they would be in the room as well if i went out. Side table and counters werent wiped, gross splatter marks on lamp, gross spoltches in bathroom floor, i was afraid to look at the tub/toilet/sink etc, i saw enough when i looked at the floor. extra pillows and towels looked thrown on the self, empty tissue box, the room obviously had not been cared for. These are the things I noticed right away, if the obvious things have not been cleaned, i cant imagine everything else! Not to mention the terrible decor, did not make me feel at ease. Total of 10 min in that room, now I need to take a shower, thankfully the owner gave my money back, even after telling me that was one of the "better" rooms. We went down the street and for $20 more, I can sleep in peace.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

In two minds on this place, on the one hand it’s very cheap and is what it is – a basic motel the same location as pretty much every other motel in the town. On the other hand it’s quite dirty and old (e.g. there was a chair in the ‘swimming pool’ when we were there.

You get what you pay for, personally I’d pay a little extra next time for one of the other motels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The motel is located on the main highway away from the touristy spots. However, kamloops being a small place, most of the city attractions are located within a 15-20 mins drive. The rooms are quite spacious but the decor is a bit tacky/dated (expected as this is a no-frills motel). The pool was not operating and looked in dilapidated state. The place was being managed by an Indian gentleman and he was very accommodating of our requests. Overall, good place for just sleeping over night without expecting to be close to the nightlife/city based attractions.

Room Tip: try and get ground floor rooms with parking right in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This motel has definetely seen better days but I only needed a place for a single night and I was travelling on a tight budget. I found it shabby but very clean with firm but comfortable beds. This is not suitable for someone with mobility problems as there are no grab-bars in the bathroom which has a deep tub. It does not have very secure windows or doors. The door has a little chain lock along with a door handle lock. The windows don't seem to lock, there is no security bar for it and the screens all look lke they've been pried out at some point in time. But, for $70 a night, I had a clean room with a decent bed. I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Old place, I would suggest spend $10-20 more and get a nice decent place. During my stay, there was no water in the pool and no breakfast provided. It was cheap, might be good for budget minded people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This motel is located off Highway-1 about 10km from Kamloops town. For the rate of $49/night (excl. taxes), we got a room with microwave, a mini-fridge and hi-speed wi-fi internet! The pool was not working at the time we were there, but it was the perfect place to put up for a night. The beds were comfy, the floor was clean, the TV was working so everything was great. Bring a pair of ear plugs and you should have no problems with the traffic noise (if any). I think this was one of the best finds (in terms of value) in this region!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innisfil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Booked a 5 night stay while on business and had to be the worst place I have ever stayed at. The first night distubances from unit above. at 4AM. FLOORS AND WALLS NOISY Second night room was not serviced was told housekeeping staff did not come. Had shower and when college went to have shower he had NO water for almost one hour. TV had bad speaker. Had to have internet in office reset, and very little band width. The second night room was clean.
The third night once again no room service, beds were not made, towels on floor, no cleaning done. Once again we had to insist on service.Sink has large chunks out of porcelan and the bed is proped up with a chunk of wood. AVOID THIS PLACE !!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trans Canada Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trans Canada Motel

Address: 2505 Trans Canada Highway East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trans Canada Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Trans Canada Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trans Canada Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.