We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoodoos at Sun Rivers

Hoodoos at Sun Rivers
1000 Clubhouse Drive, Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
+1 250-828-9404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 262 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The breathtaking views of the Kamloops cityscape offer the perfect contrast to the casual elegance of the Clubhouse creating an unforgettable setting. Ideal for guests with a mix of needs from gluten free, vegetarian, casual fare to a steak dinner. With a contemporary menu based on freshness and flavour, an elegant restaurant, a shaded patio and private space for a variety of occasions, Hoodoos at Sun Rivers is an experience to come back for. The Sun Rivers Clubhouse has a variety of options for holding groups of many sizes. For an outstanding dining experience choose Hoodoos at Sun Rivers. It's all about Taste - Your Taste.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

seven hungry travellers on 4 motorcycles looking for a place for an unhurried early breakfast. We were given the name of the restaurant by the friendly folks at the petro canada service station. THe restaurant is part of a gorgeous golf club. They are in a spectacular location on high ground overlooking Kamloops. The service was fantastic. The food choices were plentiful and very affordable. I would have expected higher prices based on what the place had to offer. The highlight of my week on the road as far as dining goes. Do yourself a favour and seek out this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good food and nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate dinner here and the place was reallly busy. However our food was good and our waiter apologized at the end for the lack of attention. Staff seem to pitch in and help each other out by waiting on each others tables which would explain the fact that we seemed to have 4 different waiters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We were told about Hoodoos by our host at the B&B we stayed at, and we experienced exactly what we were told - and more!! The atmosphere was great and the food was even better. We got to sample some of their beers (which we were not charged for) and our waitress went out of her way to teach us about Canadian food. We loved it!! I had the Trout which is caught locally in Kamloops. It was a great experience, and a great start to our month long holiday in Canada. This restaurant, with its country decor and all, comes highly recommended!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“beautiful view and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

we love the view, good atmosphere. every time we go to Kamloops we need to stop for lunch @ Hoodoos and did I forgot to mention the food is good?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“poor organization, cold food at buffet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were meeting friends for brunch and they phoned and made a reservation for 9:30. We arrived on time and found a posted sign that they had an Easter Brunch at 10 and Noon for $25, reservations required ( this hadn't been mentioned when reservation was made). The hostess seemed confused that we were there. She said we would have to wait until 10 but she could seat us and give us coffee. She put us in a corner with no view and said they were the only tables not reserved (funny- I thought we had reservations). We got coffee and waited for buffet to open. We couldn't see the buffet from our corner and by the time we were told we could go up there was a giant lineup. So much for being there first.
They quickly ran out of bacon and sausages in spite of knowing how many people had reserved. The guy doing the omelet station was working hard and doing a great job. They also had an eggs benedict station. I love eggs benedict but not here. They put a cold, untoasted muffin on the plate, put stone cold ham on it. The eggs had been prepoached and then dumped into warm water very briefly to "warm" them up, and then sauce on top. The result was cold and unappetizing. Didn't finish it. They were slow with coffee service, I guess they couldn't see us in our corner. When we left about 20 min before the Noon seating the bins were full of bacon getting cold for the next shift, too bad it was too late for us. Cost for two adults $60. I won't hurry back and I live nearby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoodoos at Sun Rivers also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Hoodoos at Sun Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoodoos at Sun Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.