We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Business Practices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Motel

Grandview Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grandview Motel to your Saves list
Grandview Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   463 Grandview Terrace, Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
North Saanich, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor Business Practices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We made a group booking but had to cancel with plenty of notice. The manager emailed the contract stating 2 weeks notice to cancel ( web site states 2 days ) 10 days before the booked dates so we were stuck paying over $1200 to cancel. Cancelled at the Best Western Kamloops, no prblems. Lesson learned, go with a reputable chain that has morals.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burns Lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were happy to check in but were advised after we checked in that if people payed a weekly rate, they would only changed towels once a week. Once a week! If your a travelor check out all these details.

Room Tip: If you want good service ask the rooms before you pay a deposit and ask questions about their servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Grandview Motel for one night on our way to Banff. It is a good and clean motel - rooms were spotlessly clean and had nice touches like a tea towel and actual mugs which plays to the fact that it is independent and family run. The beds were very comfortable. It was also within walking distance of Kamloops town centre (about 10-15 mins walk).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stopped here on the way to, and the way from the Rockies. Basic motel, had everything we needed. Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was one of the best deals that we have done. For only CAD 50 we had a nice room with large TV screen. The room and the bathroom were clean and the staff very nice. It has really exceeded our expectations for the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Based on reviews here we booked and stayed here on our way between Vancouver and Calgary. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms and hotel were and found it excellent value for the money. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

The website does not do it justice. We stopped here on our way from Vancouver to Edmonton for one night. I picked this motel based on price and decent reviews. Their website made me nervous as it showed terribly out-dated rooms. The room we stayed in was small, but recently updated. Very clean, new carpet, tiling, bathroom, etc. Very small TV. Quiet hotel in a good location if you have a car as there is not much that is walking distance. Shopping and restaurants are a short drive away. The price is extremely reasonable. We had a little dog with us and they didn't overcharge for the dogs or stick us in a smelly "dog room". I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Motel

Address: 463 Grandview Terrace, Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly, well-maintained family owned and operated motel in the heart of Kamloops. Enjoy a splendid sleep in a quiet, convenient location. (Guests rave about our great Sealy Posturepedic beds.) Every room has a fridge, coffee and air-conditioned comfort - also free local calls and local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grandview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.