We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I saved up for this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tobiano Golf Course

Tobiano Golf Course
38 Holloway Drive | Tobiano, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 0B3, Canada
877 373 2218
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tobiano is situated in one of the most stunning, pristine and unaffected areas of the province. Capturing the essence of B.C.'s semi-arid desert climate, and panoramic vistas, here you will find some of the most remarkable landscape in the province. You will find yourself surrounded by hues of red soil, grey-green sagebrush and deep-blue lake. As you sense the sun on your face and quietly take in your surroundings you will experience nothing less than nature at its finest.Conveniently located 15 minutes outside of Kamloops – the fifth largest city, by population and economic prosperity in British Columbia, the master-planned community’s 18,000 acres are comprised of hiking trails, an award winning golf course and stunning views. You’ll find it all here at Tobiano. If you are searching for that perfect home, welcome to Tobiano, a place for everyone.
Kamloops
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I saved up for this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It was worth the wait and the pennies. This is the most picturesque golf course I have ever played. And probably the most challenging for a 13 handicapper

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    5
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Soggy and Pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went their with a friend. Apparently they don't spend any money on fertilizer so they water the grass all night. This makes for a very soggy game. The golf carts will not go everywhere on the course. They stop and say it is unsafe to travel in certain spots so you're forced to get out and hike up and down. You end up walking more than you use the cart. I would not play there again. Much nicer places in Kamloops to play golf.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Tobiano Golf Course, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
In response to your recent post regarding your “Soggy and Pricey” experience at Tobiano, you made some assumptions and chose to make conclusions that are misleading and worthy of a rebuttle.

Firstly it is unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy your round at Tobiano. We rarely get a negative review regarding the conditioning of the golf course and our goal is to provide the best conditions possible on any given day. The fertility of the golf course is our number one priority and I can assure you we spend a considerable amount of time and money maintaining the proper levels on all areas of the golf course.

Secondly, most important is moisture levels, not knowing exactly which day you played (due the review being posted after the course was closed), I can only guess that you probably played after we had a significant rain.There were a couple of major storms that resulted in us not irrigating the golf course for days and sometimes weeks this season. It is impossible to dry a golf course other than to shut the irrigation system down. After that we are at the mercy of the wind and humidity levels.

In regard to the cart shutting you down in certain areas, this is a feature that most golf courses would love to have as a way to prevent inexperienced drivers from seriously injuring themselves (which has happened recently at another B.C. club) as well as damaging sensitive native grasses that provide an aesthetic value to the out of play areas.

Our goal at Tobiano is to keep the golf course at a level of quality capable of winning awards such as “ 10th Best golf course in Canada 2012" and “Best public golf course in BC 2011 and 2012" (Scoregolf magazine). This requires considerably more input in labor and materials than golf courses in town that don’t even show up on those lists. Thus the slightly higher green fee.

I would hope that you return to Tobiano next year and get another chance to play what is we think is a great course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“WOW View of Kamloops Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Tobiano is a beautiful place to golf or just go down for a drive and enjoy the view and beautiful homes, just a short leisure drive from Kamloops.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed with the Food or Cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Ordered an expensive sandwich on the way through the golf game, pick up at 9th hole. It was the worst sandwich I have ever had. It was so dry, I couldn't eat it. Had dinner in the restaurant after the game, which was average. Best part of this golf course is the practice facilities. The course is nice, and challenging. I think it is over rated compared to other courses around Kamloops.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Nice Golf Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the second time I played Tobiano. Since the first time, I understand it has gone into receivership, but is still operating.

The course is still in great shape, is challenging and the setting is spectacular. There are little things like not supplying tees that have changed since the last time out. Not really a big deal, and you wouldn't notice if you hadn't been there previously.

This is a links style course with great views. Some of the holes remind me of links courses in southwest Ireland where you are walking through a valley with hillsides covered in gorse on either side. (Only the weather was better than in Ireland!) Enchanting.

The receiver obviously wants to maintain the course and club house to maximize the value to the next purchaser.

As long as the new owner keeps up the current quality it is a great place to have a round of golf

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobiano Golf Course also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Tobiano Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobiano Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.