We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Goat - CLOSED

Laughing Goat
310 Hot Springs Rd., Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia V0M 1K0, Canada
604-796-2245
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice but not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Portions were a little on the small side. Vegetables seemed to be cooked from frozen, which is a shame given the location.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My fiancé and I were staying in Harrison and had heard this restaurant was good so we gave it a try! The server was Asian and didn't seem to have a huge grasp on English but gave great service nonetheless. I ordered the duck breast and my fiancé had the lamb shank. I tried his and it was cooked to perfection, melt in your mouth! It came with couscous with cranberries in it, pearl onions, carrots and asparagus. My duck breast was good but had some chewy parts around the edges. It came with mashed potatoes and the same veggies. If i was to return I would order something else but it was such a cute restaurant I would definitely go back! We were also served a complimentary cream puff each drizzled in chocolate right after our meals which was a really nice touch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Ok food, slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We went for lunch here and immediately got an empty table. However, there were other empty tables with dishes on then and the only server in a 35 seat restaurant was turning others away saying she was "full." Clearly, that was not the case. She really needed more help because we waited a good 15 minutes before she got around to giving us water and ordering food. The place was not busy. Anyway, our food came and it was good. Perhaps we just came on a day when all the servers/waiters went on holiday but I don't think I'd come back here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Great Unexpected Find - Don't Miss It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Beautifully presented gourmet food at very reasonable prices, delightful service, cultivated ambiance. No visitor to Harrison Hot Springs should miss this place!
The menu is not extensive, but it will please everybody, from delicious juicy hamburgers to more sophisticated choices. My favourites are the endive salad and the seafood curry.
Good selection of BC wines and delicious local beers - you must try the stout!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I walked over from the Hot Springs Resort. A friendly young couple run it...she waitresses, he cooks. We shared the seared salmon dinner and endive salad. The salmon was served with roasted veggies and mashed potato. It was simply delicious! The fish was cooked to perfection. Everything was fresh and flavorful. I hope their restaurant succeeds because they are very talented chefs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Goat also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Goat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.