We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot to relax.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Esplanade, Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia V0M 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to relax.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa is a beautiful place for respite from a hectic life, especially if you want to take advantage of the Spa. We enjoyed the opportunity to relax in the different outdoor pools. However, we were disappointed with our room in the Main Hotel. It was small and had inadequate cooling fans. We happened to visit, when the weather was very warm. We chose to include the breakfast in our package, which offered many choices but it was crowded.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room in one of the wings, which are more modern and with view of the Harrison Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    600
    237
    145
    94
See reviews for
474
753
33
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A rough estimate of the span of time I've visited this hotel would be about 4 decades, in every season. It used to be the 'only show in town' in this small resort area but of course development has crept in with other chains. Still The Harrison has the history and charm. A couple of things to know: Over its long history the hotel has had 3 incarnations, the original hotel, the expansion which occurred roughly in the 1960s, and the 'new' tower built around the 1990s. Prices follow this arc but the reason I am submitting this specific review with pictures is to share that even the oldest section of the hotel has its charms for the open hearted. Further I'd add that while it is tempting to visit with everyone else in summer, it is also a real treat to pamper yourself by 'burrowing' during BC's not-so-nice seasons when grey clouds and abundant rain prevail. If you can dig slipping into natural outdoor hot springs waters in the pouring rain you'll know what I mean; otherwise the lobby and fireplace await.

Room Tip: There is no option to choose all of the "What sort of trip was this?" : Business Visit, C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The pools were extremely disappointing. The pools temperatures were terrible.. in some of them i felt like i was in a cold bath... one of them there was actually cold water coming out of the in flow. There was also kids jumping and splashing in pools and no one there to supervise or over look pools to unsure guest pleasure or safety. At one point i got elbowed in the head and the kid(about 14)didn't even care nor did the parents. The outside pool for adults only was the only pool that was somewhat satisfying.. but way to busy for all guests and still not really hot enough. I ended sitting in the steam room... which was old and terrible but at least hot. Not the hot spring you would think that is closest to a WORLD CLASS CITY! Over all.. i would tell anyone to go to the Nakusp, Ainsworth, Fairmont or Radium before ever coming here! Not worth the money at all!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Director of Sales at Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Our 5 mineral pools offer a variety of temperatures to meet everyone's comforts. We do have many families visiting on weekends with their children, so one of the pools can get hectic. There is an adult-only pool as well as pools inside the spa that offer a more tranquil experience. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had a wonderful time here- they have pools of all different temperatures and they are really large. You could spend all day going from one to another. This was my birthday present from my parents as I love hot springs and it didn't disappoint. It was only a shame that we didn't have more time as I had to meet a friend the next day in Vancouver. I think it would also be great to visit outside of the holiday season as it was a little busy. A few days spent here in winter would be magical! We also had a lovely view of the lake which I would definitely recommend you request.
So my tips would be: try and go outside of the main holiday season and try and stay 2 nights so you don't feel rushed. You can get cocktails by the pool as well. I had a pina colada in honour of my birthday and it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Maybe there are minerals in the water, but all you can smell is the chlorine.
Loud and crowded. People shouting and screaming kids are no way to relax. There is no staff at all to check on the place and ensure it's at least a bit relaxing.
The worst part? Someone peed in the sauna, and also there was chunks of "brown matter" in the lap pool. Complaints to the staff at the front desk were received with moderate disinterest.
The best thing I can say about the place is that the tv in the room is one of the best/biggest I've seen in a hotel.
Quite disappointing!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Director of Sales at Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Long weekends tend to attract families with children - the pools do get busy. Luckily, we have several pools to accommodate everyone's desires. You'll find "quiet time" at the adult pool or in the private mineral soaks available at the Healing Spring Spa. As well, all pools are quieter on weekdays. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Ariona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a whimsical place in some ways and a bit teeth gritting in others. For example, the coffee (Starbucks, Miss Margaret's) doesn't open until 7 a.m. Many people coming here aren't Canadians, but are from other countries like us (USA) and our time clocks are different. It would be nice if Starbucks/Miss Margaret's opened up at 6 a.m., instead. In all fairness, the hotel rooms DO have a coffee maker....so it's holds you -- sort of.

And then, there's the same issue with breakfast--7a.m. I guess Canadian's don't eat brekkie at 6 a.m.??? ;-).

This is an old hotel that has been carefully taken care of and updated. It does have excellent and fast wifi. It has a 20 foot sturgeon (fish) in the lobby....huge sucker. And the decor is almost 1950's-ish, but pretty and elegant and grande.

I liked the long hall type lobby with lots of comfortable chairs to sit in and watch people go by or read or do your electronic tablet stuff. There's a roaring fire place at one end with a semi-circle of couches and chairs around it--the most popular place in the lobby, of course.

When we visited in mid-November, it was raining cats and dogs, gray and generally cold. The check-in says 4pm and believe me if you come early....most likely your room won't be ready until 4pm. Seems the management has one maid per floor--which is outrageous. At any other upscale hotel, trust me, if you come in early, they but their butts to get you into a room as fast as possible. Here at this one...not so much.

There's several shops in the hotel which are nice to peruse. The Lake Side Cafe was hurting for staff and things were slow to be served. Some food arrived hot and one person's stead was bloody and had to be sent back because she requested medium rare,not rare. It was taken care of, of course. The food is excellent and there's plenty of it. We were there for dinner as well as breakfast. I must say that their buffet breakfast was excellent. No complaints at all. And their omelet station was terrific. But it opens at 7 a.m. Not for early birds like us.

The Healing Hands Spa, hands down (pardon the pun) is a real jewel in this restort. I know they have hot springs, but let me digress to the spa. If you are in need of an excellent massage of any type, hot stones, etc., this should be the first place you go. I was like melted butter oozing off the massage table when I was done.

The hot springs ARE glorious. They have several huge outdoor pools. One for adults only, thank goodness, another for adults/children. The indoor has a huge, rectangular pool that is up to 8 feet deep to four feet deep. It is mildly warm. But the small, round pool nearby is probably 102F and delicious for about ten minutes. They have al ocker room but geeze--no locks on the lockers. Where are you to put your hotel key? Any credit cards or your iPhone????? This hotel really botched that thinking process. They have bathrobes in every room, but you need a swim suit. And I'd advise bringing floppies to wear on your feet.

I loved the Healing Hands Spa....it's top drawer, a "10" in my world. And I loved the hot springs themselves...another "10" but the thoughtfulness of putting a lock on a locker so we could put our personal belongings in them and not worry that they will be stolen...its utterly illogical. Who is running this hotel!!!????

If you don't mind going to breakfast or dinner at 7:00 am, you'll be a happy clam. There's also a lot of nice places around this resort to go too and veg out and relax. If you happen to be driving in this area, a stay is recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Harrison Hot Springs for one night in November 2013. I wasn't impressed! I should have been able to relax and enjoy the mineral pools, but my room wasn't available until 4pm, which is a pretty late check in for a resort spa especially if you're only staying one night leaving early the next morning.
The pools were nice, but not much different than any other pool, albeit warmer, and heavily chlorinated, not the hot mineral springs I expected.
The room 210 in the West wing of the main hotel was pretty dated. Housekeeping was obviously running behind In their cleaning because they missed the sticky surface of the TV cabinet. The bathroom was also really small.
I simply didn't enjoy my stay unfortunately. Not recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Esplanade, Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia V0M 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Harrison Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Harrison Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrison Hot Springs Resort And Spa
Harrison Hot Springs Hotel Harrison Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.