We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful site...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Langley National Historic Site

Fort Langley National Historic Site
23433 Mavis Ave | PO Box 129, Fort Langley, British Columbia V1M 2R5, Canada
1 604 513 4777
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the excitement of the early West Coast fur trade at Fort Langley and stand in the spot where BC was proclaimed a British colony in 1858. Explore the scenic fort—built by the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1827—where fur traders once exchanged furs, salmon and cranberries with the First Nations. Fort Langley is packed with interactive displays and activities for the whole family – watch blacksmithing, barrel-making or historic weapons demonstrations, pan for gold and laugh along with an interpretive program!• Take exit #66 (232nd St. North), just 40 minutes east of Vancouver• Open daily year round. September to June 10 am - 5 pm• Sxwimelә Boutique and Gifts• Full Barrel Cafe (summer)• Free parking• Walking distance to Fort Langley village shopping, museums, walking trails and dining. See our daily programs and events calendar online.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful site...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had family visiting from Toronto, so decided to bring them here on one of our day trips.

The weather was fantastic, and we spent a few hours on the grounds. Very well kept and maintained. When we visited there were demonstrations for farming, gardening, and black-smithing.

The buildings and exhibits were great, and it was a good way to spend an afternoon.

Close to the town of Fort Langley where there are lots of shops and places to eat.

Recomended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We're glad you chose to bring your visitors to our site, and enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    76
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to...nice historical sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to with my husband brother for a day outing to Fort Langley so we decided to go to the historical sight.A must see if tou are there. Friendly staff and and very informative on the history. We were lucky...they only shoot cannons 3 times a year and it was one of those times. They do a skit on the history which is great. They put humor in parts of it. Watch a movie about the history and I thought this would be so boring but its not. They did an awesome job with it too. Buildings are great to go through. Staff inside telling thd history or if you have questions. A must see. For young and old to enjoy. Not much in the gift shop

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Sounds like you really enjoyed your visit! Thanks for your feedback about our gift shop. We've passed your comment along. The shop is constantly receiving new stock, and have some great new items for fall. Thanks for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great way to spend BC Day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent BC Day at the Fort during the annual ``Brigade Days`` where they reinact the bringing in the furs. There were many events throughout the day / weekend and they had people living in the fort like they would have in the 1800`s.

There was lots to see, lots of people very willing to share the history and what life was like then.
We took part in barrel making, blacksmithing, garden talk, weaving, washing clothes and more!

Our youngest (a preschooler) enjoyed feeding the goats and was a willing participant in rope making.

An enjoyable afternoon for the whole family - including the teens!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit during Brigade Days! We offer Brigade Days every year on the holiday weekend at the beginning of August - do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fun at the Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were a group of 5 adults and 4 children ages 2 - 7. The exhibits were informative and interesting for every age group.
We stayed the night in the O'tentiks which were clean and comfortable. The booking process was easy and provided helpful information. The staff were fantastic from the reception at the front to the night custodians. We all have fun memories of the Fort.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our site. We're glad ot hear you enjoyed staying in our new oTENTik accommodations. We will be offering them again from May to Thanksgiving in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Birthplace of BC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Worth taking in especially for families...They have A-Frame like tents for rent as well ("o-Tentik") that look interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for visitng. Yes, we are offering the oTENTik tents again this season for visitors to rent. Each one is decorated in a historic theme. It's a one-of-a-kind experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Langley National Historic Site also viewed

 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Fort Langley National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Langley National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.