We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Visit, but a Little disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Langley National Historic Site

Fort Langley National Historic Site
23433 Mavis Ave | PO Box 129, Fort Langley, British Columbia V1M 2R5, Canada
1 604 513 4777
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the excitement of the early West Coast fur trade at Fort Langley and stand in the spot where BC was proclaimed a British colony in 1858. Explore the scenic fort—built by the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1827—where fur traders once exchanged furs, salmon and cranberries with the First Nations. Fort Langley is packed with interactive displays and activities for the whole family – watch blacksmithing, barrel-making or historic weapons demonstrations, pan for gold and laugh along with an interpretive program!• Take exit #66 (232nd St. North), just 40 minutes east of Vancouver• Open daily year round. September to June 10 am - 5 pm• Sxwimelә Boutique and Gifts• Full Barrel Cafe (summer)• Free parking• Walking distance to Fort Langley village shopping, museums, walking trails and dining. See our daily programs and events calendar online.
Lynden, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant Visit, but a Little disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I'm probably a victim of my own expectations, but I was expecting SO much more. There is one square of buildings inside the reconstructed fort. The staff was very friendly, and all but one was in period costume. What was a letdown (for me) was that only one building was an original building. Everything else was a reconstruction. I went there really wanting to see THE fort, and perhaps that was foolish on my part. I expected we would spend the whole day at the fort, exploring and learning. As it was, we were there for about 90 minutes.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed meeting our Heritage Interpreters, and that they made your visit memorable.

It is true that our site consists of one original building, dating to about 1840, and that all the buildings during the fur trade on the coast were built of squared timbers. Using the archaeological footprint of the original buildings, as well as research and historical sketches, the rest of the site has been reconstructed to give visitors a taste of what the fort would have been like.

We do find that visitors enjoy our site between 90 minutes and three hours on average, depending on the time of year and day that you visit. There is also a town full of interesting boutiques, antique shops, cafes, and walking trails that you can visit to extend your day.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    76
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always something new.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

With the many volunteers and events every year make this a must see in Fort Langley. It will give you a good idea of how life was when the Hudon's Bay Company opened up this area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback. We are glad you enjoy the variety of events and activities we offer. We are always working hard to provide our local visitors with a variety of great experiences at the fort - our community's historic roots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley B.c
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Days of Yore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

spent the bettter part of the day seeing how the settlers really lived. It was a very hot day and the clothing worn by the "settlers" was hot heavy and combursome. We are so fortunate

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Isn't that the case! We are glad you enjoyed a step into the past, and our interpreters' period costumes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Interesting historical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Fort Langley was very interesting for me. I like the history very much, and it was a good exhibition about the Western fur trade era. The staff was very good, we heard a lot about the history of the Fort and the life of the people at this time.

Altogether it is an interesting historical experience, and I recommend to visit it if you are in the Vancouver area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Sounds like you had a wonderful visit. We are always happy to hear visitors enjoyed our programs and site. Thank you kindly for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Glimpse into our past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The folks that work in Fort Langley are amazing, patient, knowledgeable and eager to share what they know. Enough space for little folks to run... but they can't easily escape. Get an idea what life was like for the men and women who came to BC in our early history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed a relaxing day. We find many parents enjoy the safe, relaxed setting withing the fort's walls. We hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Langley National Historic Site also viewed

 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Fort Langley National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Langley National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.