We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes it to the next level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beatniks Bistro

Beatniks Bistro
9194 Glover Road, Fort Langley, Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
604-888-4487
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Fort Langley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Takes it to the next level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely little restaurant in the heart of Fort Langley. I had eaten here with friends in September and sat outside on a warm evening. Enjoyed the veggie sweet potato burger. Wonderful flavour combinations. Last night took a friend there for a birthday dinner and enjoyed the appetizer special - pan-seared scallop sliders. Had the arctic char as an entrée. Nice flavours again but could have been more intense. Enjoyed the atmosphere - cozy and intimate with a variety of seating. Servers were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loud Bistro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a group attending "Grave Tales" at the Fort in Fort Langley so we wanted to have a bite to eat prior to the event. I had been there once before, in the summer, and enjoyed the outdoor patio and ambience. Since we are now in October we seated inside for this meal. The atmosphere and decor is funky, the food was decent but what sttod out for everyone in our group was how loud it is inside the restaurant. It is a small area with relatively low ceilings and there were around 40 diners while we were there an it was impossible to have a conversation with anyone other than the person right next to you. My partner and I each had Cioppino which was clams, mussels and bread. Mine was fine but my partner got a bad mussel which kinda spoiled the meal for her. Overall, the one memorable thing about this place unfortunately won't be the food but how loud it was. Perhaps, if the owners are aware of the noise level, they should drop the background music which everyone was talking over.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Great local spot with a cozy room, good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lazy Saturday afternoon, drifting around doing errands, we decided to head to Ft Langley and realized as we parked that we were getting hungry. We've eaten in half a dozen Ft Langley places over the years, but never at Beatnik's Bistro so we took a look. In warm weather the big patio has lots of tables & chairs - but this Fall evening they were only serving in the cozy inside room. The high ceiling (not expected from outside!), wrought iron chandeliers, fireplace, and lots of B&W photography give it a tasteful but cozy feeling. The tables are not quite in keeping with the rest - a small quibble. We shared a Caesar salad (generous on the garlic, dressing was just right), I had the cioppino (primarily mussels) with a baguette & melted blue cheese - very tasty - and a Beringer chardonnay. My companion had braised short ribs and spring vegetables - the short ribs were good, excellent sauce - the meat a tad on the dry side, and he had a couple of beers. Finished with some tea - the bill (including tax, before tip) was just over $70. BTW, the room was packed (only one table empty) and with everyone talking it can be noisy (as a previous reviewer wrote) but we thought that added to the ambiance. The manager is the granddaughter of the woman in the photo over the fireplace: nice to be in a locally owned spot. Very friendly service, cozy room, tasty food, good value: we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loud and lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Tiny bistro in Fort Lanfley, good energy, friendly staff. The onion soup was rich and very hot. I had carpaccio, my friend had salmon sandwich. Crusty bread.

Lovely.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Love this place, its quaint, great food, and cozy, outside refreshing, and comfortable. They have taken one of the old homes in Fort Langley and set it back so that the front has outdoor seating. They have updated with great style. Lovely place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beatniks Bistro also viewed

Langley, British Columbia
 
Langley City, Langley
 

Been to Beatniks Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beatniks Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.