We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer House Restaurant

Pioneer House Restaurant
4675 Trans Canada Highway RR 7, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3Y1, Canada
(250) 746-5848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 89 Restaurants in Duncan
Cuisines: Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Duncan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Its our families favorite breakfast spot. Very warm & rustic atmosphere & the food & service is excellent! Lunch & dinner also great! Great burgers & steaks, best pies around!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    17
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've eaten here a few times and been happy every time. They make a steak just right, and the onions are delicious. The ambiance is wonderful and the bar they had moved (story on the menu) is stunning. Great place to grab supper on the way back to Victoria.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming& comforting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The food is local, fresh, always good as well as the service. Almost everything is house made, and the pies are amazing. Go there!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“LOG HOUSE RESTAURANT - with the Country Flare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Here is a restaurant just off the highway on your way to Nanaimo that makes for a great meal at a great price. The Pioneer Restaurant is a great meal location, always has been. My wife and I visit this restaurant quite often, not only is close to our home but the value for what you receive is exceptional. If you are thinking of coming in on a Friday Night, Saturday or Sunday through the day - make sure you phone ahead and make reservations, this way you won't get caught in the long line ups to eat at this facility. It is very popular.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and interesting atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a really nice lunch at reasonable prices. Service was great and the pies looked amazing although we were too full to have dessert. We have been meaning to stop at this interesting building for years, but during tourist season it always seemed too busy. Very happy we finally got a chance to try this friendly restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer House Restaurant also viewed

Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Pioneer House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.