We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching

Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching
1721 Cowichan Bay Road, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3X3, Canada
250-748-3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Activities in Duncan
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean EcoVentures' whale watching excursions depart daily from the seaside village of Cowichan Bay.Our Whale Watching tours focus on the Southern Resident Orca Whales, Transient Orca Whales, Humpback Whales, Grey Whales and Minke Whales. You will also encounter Sea Lions, Bald Eagles, Harbour Seals, Dalls and Harbour Porpoise.A small, owner-operated family business, Ocean EcoVentures is committed to providing you with an intimate and informative whale watching tour.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Amazing trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

It was an amazing trip, with an excellent guide/captain (Simon).
We have been on the water for 5 hours... of which 4 were among ~40 Orca's !
More then it's money worth... and the highest recommendations!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    14
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anways excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had an amazing experience on our tour with Ocean EcoVentures and continue to refer visitors to this amazing local experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous sea adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wonderful and very knowledgeable guide and captain. Professional and personable. We saw whales actually 'surfing' on the wake of a freighter! Magical.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“One of the better whale watching companies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This small Cowichan Bay enterprise is one of the better, more responsible whale watching experiences. I've used their services for visiting relatives twice. Once was cancelled because of rough seas, which is another positive point - they did not push us to go in less-than-ideal conditions just to create revenue. It isn't much fun when the ocean is too choppy.
Their boat is of the mid-size zodiac type, you can see it on the website. It isn't super comfortable, but it isn't supposed to. This feels like a more close-up, adventurous ride, so keep that in mind when you have not got the stamina for this sort of thing. The entire trip can take up to 6 hours and not everyone might find they can last that long in a survival suit on a bench in a bouncy boat.
The captain was an enthusiastic guy whose heart is clearly in it. His commentary is interesting and his excitement about the beauty of it all contagious.
The wildlife sightings are usually good in these waters, although it may sometimes take a while to get to the best sites. Wildlife follows unpredictable patterns, so there is obviously no 100% guarantee you will see orcas, for example, but then you might see humpback whales, sea lions, porpoises, dolphins, and many other species of mammals and birds.
All in all a very recommendable, safe and not-too-expensive experience that any reasonably healthy visitor to these parts should put in their itinerary. If your constitution doesn't allow for it, I'd recommend one of the larger whale watching organizations in Victoria - their boats are a lot bigger.
Parking isn't ideal in Cowichan Bay, but it is a quaint little place that is worth a visit in itself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best wildlife experience of our lives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our captain's name is Lance and we had such a fantastic day. The whale watch tour was scheduled to be 4 hours, but they went the extra mile(s) and we had an action packed adventure for a full 6 hours! We saw a humpback whale and spent over an hour trailing two families of orca whales. We saw the live kill of a seal less than 100 ft away! It was amazing and we could tell that these guys don't do this for the money, but because they genuinely love what they do. Lance even sent us pictures of the experience and didn't charge us. We can't say enough about Ocean EcoVentures, we will be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.