We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Meal & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson's On First

Hudson's On First
163 First Street, Duncan, British Columbia V9L-1R1, Canada
+1 250-597-0066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Duncan
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American, English, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Hudson's on First serves classically prepared modern French European cuisine using fresh local west coast ingredients. Fine dining set in a beautifully restored 106 year old Heritage building showcasing their passion and expertise for the flavours of their surroundings. Experience an escape on an unforgettable culinary retreat through extraordinary cuisine paired with warm attentive service. Hudson's on First is the life dream of Daniel and Andrea Hudson, grown from their passion for amazing food and brilliant service. Chef Daniel Hudson from England received formal training from Michelin Star chefs before making his home in the Cowichan Valley. From the selection of ingredients and the blend of flavours, to the artistry on the plate, his passion for food is evident in every detail. Andrea Hudson is Vancouver Island raised. She is formally trained and educated in Hospitality Management. Andrea has travelled extensively developing her skills as a dining service expert. She is passonate about wine, food and the attention to detail. Andrea is thrilled to now be calling the Cowichan Valley her permanent home and to share her experience with every new guest.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a wonderful meal, fantastic service & lovely, warm ambience. I had been wanting to try Hudsons for some time. It did not disappoint. It is a very egant, but not stuffy, restaurant. It is apparent that the owners haven taken great care & paid attention to details. The space is beautifully restored. The meal was excellent. It was a most memorable meal, fairly priced. We will certain make the trip back to Duncan from Victoria, as the meal, service & surroundings were well worth the drive

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    9
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining with unique dining ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

As a celiac I was impressed with the choices. They presented me with special bread to enjoy. We really loved scallop appetizer. My father and I loved the beef shanks ... So tender and savoury. My husband and Fathers wife enjoyed a fish entree. Dessert and coffee was awesome.
I have travelled all over the world and know quality service, first class food presentation, and inviting sociable atmospheres ... Hudson's does not disappoint. Well worth the experience.
We will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quaint and Classy Haute Cuisine in Duncan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant is excellent and I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a good restaurant in the Cowichan Valley. Its Haute Cuisine in a cozy unpretentious atmosphere. One look at the beautifully renovated old house that they've turned into a fabulous restaurant will make you want to go there. It is just off Canada Ave. on First Street in Duncan so very easy to find and near the downtown area. Chef Dan Hudson was also on Top Chef Canada and represented us very well. Dan and his wife Andrea own and run it and with his incredible talent in the kitchen and her background in hospitality you are treated to an incredible experience. Also, the staff are very knowledgeable about the food and the wines they serve and I can't say enough about the service...excellent!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food was delicious, the restaurant beautiful and the service top notch. Absolutely worth it for a special night or even casual lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Been twice, will keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not much to choose from as far as "fine dining" goes in the area... So this is pretty special. The male server there in particular is great to deal with, and I've never had a bad dish there. Some better than others (the gnocchi stands out in my mind), but all great. The only negative would be that they have a very limited scotch selection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson's On First also viewed

 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Hudson's On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson's On First, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.