We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke tainted & WiFi limited” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Motor Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L3S3 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Smoke tainted & WiFi limited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The only available room within reach of the motel's WiFi range on the ground floor of this 2-storey building was so scented by cigarette smoke, that I had to check out early. I required a street level room for health reasons. Management did have a No Smoking sign on the room which I specified in my reservation (July, 2012), but everything smelled of smoke inside the room. Management knew about the problem and apologized. They did not offer an alternative (nor refund which I did not actually request either), but for what the facility offers, I felt $75 per night for a senior was excessive. The motel is also very close to the busy Trans Canada Hwy, so it was not that quiet either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird M, Manager at Thunderbird Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We are surprised and quite frankly, shocked at the negativity of your review of our property. We will always try to please all our guests and if not fully satisfied will consider a full refund or adjustment. Although there is little we can do with smokers that "cheat" and smoke in a non-smoking room, our policy of non-smoking is strictly enforced.

It was not apparent to us but had you told us you were a senior and had special health needs/requirements, we would have endeavored to do everything to accommodate you here or recommend other accommodation more suited to your budget and specific requirements. We have reviewed your initial email reply to the reservation confirmation; you seemed happy with the arrangements and did not mention any special requests.

Upon check-in we did provide you with a choice of ground floor rooms and you seemed content with your choice of room even though you detected lingering smoke. After one night you were encouraged to leave to find less expensive accommodations, as our rate of $66.96 + HST was "excessive" in your opinion. We noticed you also were not content with the other motel you chose to move to, nor with the restaurant you dined at.

It will continue to be our policy to provide our guests with clean, comfortable rooms at very reasonable rates and endeavour to meet all of our customer's needs.

We regret we were not able to satisfy you.

Sincerely, Thunderbird Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    32
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
21
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here with our girls ball team and had a great experience. The new owners are great and are on site day and night. The place is clean and is centrally located to shopping and restaurants. Great place to spend a night and great a place to bring a sports team.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaville, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I spend two nights at the motel the first week of July. Everything was excellent. The room nice, clean, and well furnished. We really appreciated the on-site laundry. Martin and Maureen were gracious, helpful and informative hosts. Because of their recommendation, we spent a perfect day in nearby Chemainus with its world famous murals. We also enjoyed first rate meals at two restaurants in Duncan recommended by them. A most delightful part of our two week trip to Alaska, Vancouver Island, and northwest Washington State.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently had the oppourtunity to stay at this Motel and we were pleasantly surprised.

Apparently it's recently been taken over by new owner/managers. They have done a great job of freshening up the rooms and updating with new linens and towels. Our room was well appointed, very clean and comfortable. Having the microwave and coffee maker in the room was an added bonus.
The staff could not have been more helpful with directing us to local points of interest etc.
Closely located to several fast food restaurants, also an excellent diner on site, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. (clubhouse sandwich was awesome)

No problem recommending this property to others and we would gladly return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our baseball team stayed at the motel from June 30 - July 2 and we were very pleased with the overall experience. The rooms are large (by motel standards), very clean, and the beds are comfortable. There are plenty of dining options within walking distance (Boston Pizza, a Family-style diner, and mutiple fast food options). The new management team brought us extra towels within minutes of our request and even brough a nail file for one of our ladies who needed one. We also noted that the motel is gradually converting from carpets to hardwood flooring (or laminate) in the rooms. Excellent value for the price paid and we will not hesitate to stay here when we visit Duncan again. My only suggestion would be to increase the number of TV channels offered.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We recently stayed here and were quite delighted with the motel. There is new management who are very welcoming and helpful, the room we were in was large and comfortable with a small fridge, coffee maker, microwave and a very comfortable king size bed. There is even a laundry room complete with ironing board and iron for guests. The location is great-you can see the famous hockey stick from the motel as well as an A & W and Wendy's if you have kids and there is an excellent restaurant on the property that serves very tasty family style meals at a family friendly price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Address: 5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L3S3 , Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motor Inn is centrally located in the Cowichan Valley; an easy walk to downtown Duncan, the Cowichan Sports Plex, and across the street from the Cowichan Theatre / Rec Centre / Aquatic Centre.We are 40mins north of Victoria (BC's Capital) and 35 minutes south of Nanaimo (The Harbour City) which makes us the perfect stopping point after travelling from the Washington State Ferries, BC Ferries, or the airports.We are close to the Chemainus Theatre, Cowichan Valley Exhibition Grounds, Sports Fields, many Local Wineries, Golf Courses, Shopping, BC Forest Discovery Centre, Vancouver Island University, Maple Bay Marina, Cowichan District Hospital.Located in the City of Totems, in the heart of Duncan B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.