We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific spot and terrific wine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Averill Creek Vineyard

Averill Creek Vineyard
6552 North Road, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 6K9, Canada
250-709-9986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific spot and terrific wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a rare free day and on the recommendation of a friend we packed a picnic and headed to the winery. They have a beautiful patio where you can enjoy a glass (or more) of wine with a charcuterie plate. You can also pack in your own picnic. The wine was excellent and we really enjoyed the hospitality of Andy and Donald.

All in all a great way to spend a summer afternoon am we look forward to bringing guests with us next time. The rose made from 100% Pinot Noir was the perfect lunch wine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nestled in the hills just outside of Duncan lies this remarkable property with fantastic views overlooking the Cowichan Valley and out into Maple Bay. The staff at the tasting counter was extremely personable and very knowledgeable about the winery's products, and wines in general. The winery will allow you to bring a picnic and enjoy the views from one of their patio tables provided you purchase one of their wines. We did just that, and it made a great experience wonderful. An added bonus was that the wines are incredibly fragrant and delicious. Highly recommend if you're in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and excellent wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited this vineyard with friends who recommended it and told us it was one of the nicest on the Island. The tasting room is in a modern building with a beautiful flower lined patio and gorgeous view. We tasted the grape juice and 5 wines. Some were exceptional. We purchased the Gewurtztraminer, Foch Cab, and the Pinot Noir. The wine steward was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about the wines and the awards that the vineyard had won. We'll go back when we are out this way again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Novice Wine Drinker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

During our stay in Duncan, BC at the Fuzzy Frog B&B, our hosts suggested we visit wineries among other attractions. We had time to visit one so we selected Averill Creek as it was in an area for one of our day trips. Take #1 Hwy north of Duncan and turn left onto #18 Cowichan Valley Hwy. Watch for the Averill Creek sign on the right after a short drive. We drove by and had to do a U-turn.

Take the ride on the gravel road (good road) until you come to a gate. Punch in the numbers on security pad and gate opens. (numbers shown on sign) Then, drive up to the reception bldg and be greeted by staff who will gladly offer you a taste of wines. Tasting is free and no purchase required.

We introduced ourselves as tourists from Winnipeg, Manitoba and wouldn't you know it, the Sommelier who served us was from Manitoba. She had several bottles of wine on the counter and offered us a taste from a non-alcoholic to start with and then onto the others varieties. As the title of article may indicate, my wife and I are not wine drinkers to any great degree. We occasionally have a glass.

Not only did we taste wine but were given an education about the wines and information about growing conditions. We also learned about who a Sommelier is and does. It is a title for a Wine Taster and requires intensive training by taking a 3 certificate course.

There is a patio in front of the reception bldg with tables with umbrella and chairs. Visitors can bring a lunch, buy a bottle or glass of wine at the wine store there and have lunch and the wine on the patio.

We liked the tasting, the Sommelier and the facility and purchased 3 bottles of wine. One bottle, a Pinon Noir, was purchased to drink with our hosts at the Fuzzy Frog B&B that evening. The other two bottles we were taking home. Our concern was how to get the bottles home safely.

It would cost a small fortune to ship home or take on as cargo luggage on our flight home. We decided, with the advice of our Sommelier, to purchase two bubble pack non-spill wrapper bags to use for transporting the wine in our luggage. The bags were $3.75 each, I believe, and so we purchased the two bags for shipping.

When we got back to the B&B later that evening, we offered the bottle of Pinot Noir to our hosts so we could celebrate our last evening with them and in Duncan. They were delighted and surprised. They told us that Averill Creek has one of the best Pinot Noirs on the Island. We drank the wine and enjoyed.

Well, we put each bottle of wine into a bubble pack wrapper and put one in each of our bags. We checked our luggage with WestJet at Victoria Airport and took our flight home. Changed planes in Edmonton and arrived in Winnipeg later that evening. We retrieved our luggage and went home, wondering about the condition of the wine. No leaks from the bags, so far.

We opened our bags and what do you know, the bubble pack wrappers did work! We will continue our journey into more healthy living and drink this wine with fond memories of our visit to Duncan and area and the Averill Creek Vinyard.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable trip to the vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went there 2nd week of April. We didn't read any review from Trip advisor until after the trip so we turned left into the golf course as suggested by the GPS. As previous review has mentioned, you are supposed to turn right instead. Anyway we managed to find our way to the right location from the sign by the side of the road.
The young man at the tasting room was very friendly and knowledgable in his wines. We tasted 5 wines and one palette cleanser which all of us enjoyed. The view from the tasting room is also spectacular. We bought a Pinot Gris which goes really well with the crabs we had later on. We also bought a bottle of Foch cab and a dessert wine. Enjoyed the wine, enjoyed the view, enjoyed the service. A very good trip indeed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Averill Creek Vineyard also viewed

 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Averill Creek Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Averill Creek Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.