We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place, delightful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Funky Frog B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Funky Frog B&B
Save
You added The Funky Frog B&B to your Saves list
6470 Burnett Place, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 5R7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPECIAL OCCASION TREAT
Ranked #1 of 18 Duncan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aldridge
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delightful place, delightful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

From the comfortable rooms to the pleasant garden and the delicious breakfasts this really is a delightful place to stay. Stayed three nights while attending a family wedding and were made very welcome by David and Veronica, the hosts. It felt less like a rental, more like staying with friends who went out of their way to make us feel at home. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkyfrogbb, Owner at The Funky Frog B&B, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review. It was a real pleasure hosting your group. We are glad that you had a place to gather before and after the wedding ceremonies. We enjoyed meeting all of you and were surprised at how fast those three days went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are looking for tranquility, comfort, amazing hospitality, tasteful decor and hosts that go beyond the call of duty you MUST stay here. Dave & Veronica's are the most gracious hosts and their little piece of heaven did not disappoint in any way. They gave us helpful advice about the area - try the early morning hike down to the marina - fabulous! The breakfasts were both nutritious and delicious. The power went out one morning around 7:30 and they actually cooked us breakfast on the barbecue! The back garden is serene and lush - can't wait to go there in summer when everything is in bloom. Don't miss the hot-tubbing under the stars. I give this B&B a 10 out of 10. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the Island!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wisteria Suite with the little kitchen, living room and master bedroom. You can co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkyfrogbb, Owner at The Funky Frog B&B, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
It was an absolute delight to host you and your daughter and granddaughter in our home recently while you were attending a wedding at Bird`s Eye Cove Farm. We loved seeing you explore the surroundings while absorbing the local vibe. Thank you so much for taking the time out to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed a night at The Funky Frog and loved it! Our hosts were very kind and accommodating right from when we arrived. The room we had (Garry's Oak) was beautiful with very chic modern furnishings, a totally comfortable king bed, and a 2nd comfy pull out bed. Everything was incredibly clean. We really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub and afterwards relaxing by the wood burning stove.

Breakfast featured fabulous fresh baked goods, french toast, eggs, bacon and excellent conversation.

We would definitely recommend staying here.

NOTE: One person travelling in our group of 3 was a wheelchair user and was able to navigate in and around the Garry's Oak room quite well. B&B has ramp access outside and is equipped with grab bars and handheld shower hose in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkyfr0gbb, Owner at The Funky Frog B&B, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
It was great hosting you three. The evening was still cool enough to have a wood fire. We really enjoyed chatting and finding so much common ground. We are glad that we were able to accommodate the wheel chair. Thank you for posting such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Funky Frog. We were visiting the area for the Brentwood Regatta and had a 25 minute drive both ways, but didn't mind. Beautiful area, very relaxing. The B and B is spotless and well stocked. Great recommendations from the hosts for hikes, restaurants, etc. The hosts are experienced travelers and make sure you have everything you need to make your trip as individualized as you are. It was chilly outside in the evenings. Dave was very thoughtful to put a fire in the wood-stove so the common area was toasty warm for our arrival. The back yard is very relaxing. We spent time in the hot tub (which was also squeaky clean. It was wonderful to look up and see millions of stars! We cracked our window open at night to hear the natural outside sounds. Woke up to the beautiful chirping of birds. The saying "enter as strangers, leave as friends" holds true for this B and B. We really enjoyed getting to know Veronica and Dave. Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: The rooms are well portrayed on the web-site. Great beds, very comfortable and cozy with down-type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkyfr0gbb, Owner at The Funky Frog B&B, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
It's always great to share travel stories with our guests. We really enjoyed the conversations and are very flattered that you took the time to post such a great review. Our favourite part of running a B&B is actually hosting the guests. We are glad that we could offer what you were looking for on your trip to the Cowichan Valley. So great to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We just spent four nights at the Funky Frog and we were very pleased with the accommodation and more especially with the hospitality and the excellent, plentiful food. We had a wonderful hot breakfast every morning and there was always far more than we could consume. As soon as he heard us up Dave would arrive with a thermos of wonderful coffee which was refilled as required. We were three generations and were travelling with two small children who had lots of room to romp and play. Because we had small children we were pleased to have access to a fridge, stove, kitchen sink, dishes and a full range of small appliances. Dave made the washing machine and dryer available which was especially nice with the kids. The location is a bit remote but very beautiful and quiet. Top quality beds and the whole place was very clean. Our family will use the Funky Frog again as a base for our visits to Duncan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkyfrogbb, Owner at The Funky Frog B&B, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It was great hosting you and your family. Even better that you were able to have the place to yourselves. With everyone travelling from different parts of the world to meet here at the Funky Frog, it was great to provide a quiet rest stop. Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My cousin's husband took me and husband to this lovely b&b. Great place, beautiful scenery. Best rooms and decorations, lots of attention to detail. Got to meet Toby, Veronica and Dave who make your stay a wonderful one. Hope to come back again for a longer visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkyfrogbb, Owner at The Funky Frog B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
It was so great to meet you and your husband. We had a great visit even though it was so short. We hope that you were able to get some quiet relaxation away from your busy lives in Mexico City. It's great to trade travel stories with our guests and find so much common ground. Thank you for taking time to review. We are so glad that your cousin chose us as one of the stops on your tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was a return visit for me and I brought along two relatives. We stayed only one night unfortunately because it is a very relaxing place. It is a cozy place to be when the weather is cold and wet which was our situation. The other good part to this B&B are the owners, Veronica and David. Very hospitable and accommodating. And the breakfast, well that's another great story.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkyfrogbb, Owner at The Funky Frog B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
It was great to see you back for a another visit and we were very flattered that you brought your relatives with you. What a great compliment to us. We had a great visit and really enjoyed a relaxing evening of wine and conversation with you. Thank you for taking the time for such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Funky Frog B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Funky Frog B&B

Address: 6470 Burnett Place, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 5R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2014 Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor. A boutique 3 room B&B in Maple Bay, BC in the heart of Cowichan Valley wine country on Vancouver Island (just north of Victoria). We can accommodate up to 10 guests- ideal for small gatherings or wedding guests. Restore in the soulful 1/2 acre garden featuring decks, trellises, winding pathways, rock walls and fire pit. Enjoy the garden from the outdoor living room on the back porch and make use of the BBQ. Recline in the guest lounge, with TV, DVDs, cozy wood-stove, and books. We offer all-day complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate and popcorn. A microwave, toaster oven and bar fridge are available in the guest lounge to prepare snacks or picnics. Once your wellness is restored, explore the Cowichan Valley's culinary offerings: wineries, a cidery, fine restaurants and farm markets. If you prefer the outdoors, there are bays, marinas and a beach nearby, kayaking, canoeing, fly-fishing, hiking and cycling the Trans-Canada trail with its newly restored Kinsol trestle, golfing, bird-watching and more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Funky Frog B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.