We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cowichan Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cowichan Valley Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cowichan Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6474 Trans Canada Highway, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 6C6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kent, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stopped here our last night on our way home via the Sidney Anacortes ferry. The room was clean, attractive and comfortable.
Unfortunately the hallways, stairwells and the main floor lobby areas smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. We opted not to eat there because of the smell.

  • Liked — Location, good for a stop over
  • Disliked — Smell of smoke
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
25
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

After going to the Travelodge in Duncan and was treated very rudely by the front Desk Manager. And asking to the owner whom treated me badly. I went on through town and came across the Best Western which was an older building but it gave it charactor which we loved would recommend it to everyone. Nice rooms, pool, resturant, bar. Great Staff. Would always come back to this one

  • Liked — Everything was Great
  • Disliked — Nothing was bad
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

What a great little hotel. They provided a quality of service and food that was more in keeping with a high end big city property.

I travel a lot and found that though the hotel is older, they have done a great job in a recent renovation. I've stayed here numerous times over the years but this is the first time since they fixed the place up and let me tell you, they did a great job. Duvets with triple sheets that are absolutely first class. New carpets, the works. It is great to have new plasma televisions and a new, second portable phone so I can be near a phone wherever I am in my room.

Most important to me is the internet. I need good internet when I travel and this place rocks. The whole hotel is a secure hotspot with the fastest download and upload speeds of any hotel I've stayed in. It's nice that I can work in my room or in either the restaurant or the pub (with a cold beer!) and now I find it even works by the pool, and all without having to log in every time or get chained to my room with a cable. And all of it is wireless and most important FREE.

I've stayed at other hotels in this area and this is the only hotel I can honestly recommend. Love the staff. Love the food. Love the service. Love the comfortable beds. If you don't like it here, there's probably something wrong with you.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

First the good: 1) lots of towels, 2) very nice flat-screen TV. Okay, that's it.

This is clearly an older place. Everything looks threadbare and well-used, apart from those new additions: the coffee maker, fridge, cordless phone, TV, etc. To power all these devices they needed an octopus plug and a power bar. But I guess the electrical system is managing, even though it has to also run a heating/AC unit that looks decades old.

The wireless internet functions poorly. The browser would work maybe half the time. Incoming mail worked usually, but outgoing never worked.

A coffee pouch was supplied and a teabag, but if you wanted more, you had to pay $2 for the coffee, $0.50 for tea! Never seen that before.

But here's the absolute worst: Many hotels have banned smoking entirely; others have chosen to continue to allow it in some rooms. This hotel has gone 96% of the way to non-smoking, which effectively means 0% here. Of the 25 rooms on our floor, only one was designated for smoking. Guess where it was. Right in the middle. What genius decided this? The people in that room had a little party and propped open their door to air out their own smoke. The hallways were thick with it and smoke permeated easily through the space around our door. Management didn't seem in the least concerned, didn't offer to move us or do anything else about it. We used the extra towels and bedding to block the gaps as best we could but still stunk of stale smoke in the morning.

I'd put this hotel on a par with some Super 8's or maybe Days Inn's we've stayed at, but where we paid half as much. And even they offered some kind of basic breakfast. Here you get just one cup of mediocre coffee.

No way we'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Nice TV
  • Disliked — bad smoking room policy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

The pictures on this site do not give you the true picture of how great this place is. Came to Duncan on business and was originally booked in another hotel. Upon arrival was more than disappointed so visited Best Western to see about availability. Staff was incredibly helpful and made every effort to get me a room last minute. The rooms are recently renovated with modern style furnishings and luxurious bedding. All rooms have wireless internet, large flat screen tv and plenty of room. There is a fantastic pub downstairs, restaurant, fitness facility, outdoor pool and computers in the lobby for guests use. The staff both at the desk and in the pub are fantastic. It is too bad the pictures on this site have not yet been updated. The renovations in the rooms are worth staying here. You won't be disappointed especially if coming to Duncan on business.

  • Liked — The room and staff
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2004

This hotel is well located in Duncan for a stopover on Vancouver Island - on the main through road. My family and I stopped here for one night en route from the Anacortes/Sidney ferry to the west of the island, and found it to be very reasonably priced (booked through the Best Western internet site), with a pub and good restaurant on site, and a pleasant pool for a morning swim. The initial outside appearance is deceptive!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cowichan Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cowichan Valley Inn

Address: 6474 Trans Canada Highway, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 6C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Cowichan Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cowichan Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Duncan
Duncan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cowichan Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.