We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Duncan

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Duncan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Duncan
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5325 Trans Canada Hwy, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 5J2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Duncan
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    26
    14
    14
See reviews for
29
16
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my daughter and her her little one in a double room . The room was clean , supplied with a mini fridge and free water bottles which was a nice touch. The tvs were the old styld models but they did work , not too many channels to chose from . The halls way looked tired and smelled like smoke but the room smelled fresh . Breakfast was your typical fare , with cereals , toast , some fruit and self serve waffles . Nice and close to town . Fair price for an average hotel . Would possibly stay here again if it was just for one night and travelling through .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Came down to see Allan Jackson and was not disappointed. The motel was great for comfort, cleanliness, and location. If I did it again I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Hotel is definitely showing it's age. We stayed with friends and did not have high expectations or needs, so it was adequate. We had a larger Kitchen room, which gave us plenty of extra space. The double rooms seemed to be extremely small, as I walked by. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant on site serves a good breakfast. There is a Pub around back which I suggest avoiding, very dark and nothing special. There does appear to better Hotel and Restaurant/Pub choices on the other end of town.

Room Tip: There are a few Kitchen rooms with alot more space. These are better if you have additional people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Super 8 the August long weekend. We had booked a King Size, Jacuzzi room 6 months previous through an internet special, which was quite a discounted rate. When we arrived, we were told we had booked a room with a double bed, thankfully we brought our confirmation statement which was clear we were promised the Jacuzzi suite. After some room juggling, the clerk told us someone else had the jacuzzi suite and the best she could do for us was the suite with a full kitchen. Not wanting a room with a double bed - we took the suite.
The shower jumped from icy cold to normal when using it. When using the blow dryer the breakers would blow and we would lose the power to our room so we had to have the staff reset them.
The second morning, there was no hot water so we had cold showers and again - the breakers blew when I tried to blowdry my hair, we even turned everything off in the room to try and avoid this, but no luck. The clerk told us that they had experienced this with a few rooms this weekend because they were operating at full capacity. My expectation when staying in hotel or motel is that everything works, not matter what capacity you are operating at.
I ended up having to blowdry my hair in the hallway, which was embarrassing to say the least...needless to say I didn't attempt to blowdry my hair on checkout day.....
The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable but the towels are thin and small so bring your own if you are staying here.
While they have done some nice upgrades to the bathrooms and the floors have been upgraded to laminate -it is still in need of some renos so that you don't feel like your staying in a 1960's motel. The carpeting in the lobby and hallways are filthy and are in need of a good cleaning or replacing.
The continental breakfast was good - the waffles were delicious and the coffee was fresh. Again - the staff were very friendly and helpful but chances are - I would not stay here again due to the issues with the hot water and electrical problems.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Duncan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Duncan

Address: 5325 Trans Canada Hwy, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 5J2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Duncan 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best rates in-town and only hotel to offer Free Breakfast with stay! We love our guests! Book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Duncan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Duncan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.