We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must eat here if visiting the Yukon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sourdough Joe’s

Sourdough Joe’s
Front Street, Dawson, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Dawson
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Must eat here if visiting the Yukon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Best fish and chips in the Yukon!!! Greasy but good. I got the deep fried cod and fries. Fries were homemade!!! Service was slow, we sat outside and were pretty much forgot about :(

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    26
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Good sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The food was quite good, but over priced. I had the Halibut and Chips with the Sea Food Chowder. The service was very good. Casual place, nothing fancy. Not a bad place, but there are better choices in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sour Doe Joe's - good food & casual atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Joe's was recommended to us.

It was a warm evening so we choose to eat in the outside area We choose to eat in the outside picnic table area instead of inside as it was a lovely warm evening.
Both ordered halibut & chips. Nice light batter.
Pleased with food and service.
Casual atmosphere.

Located on Front Street on the corner of ?(I think the cross street was Princess) - across the main street from the Yukon River.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came here to eat after a loooong bus ride. It was recommended by tour guide. It was on the front street of Dawson City by the Yukon River. It was a casual, clean place with the flavor of the local catch. Food was excellent and fast. The service was great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good enough but not fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was recommended by local. Price is fine for tourist town, from me,memory around $15 per person. Fish was fresh but batter was oily, but light enough to still enjoy. I recommend asked for grill instead of batter.

Chips are normal, or you can choose pea soup instead of chips, which is normal again, not outstanding, but still good enough. Complementary Coleslaw 'sidedish' was a joke, its in a tiny dipping sauce container (think small soy-sauce plate). So salad is non-existence. You can order alcohol with them.

Overall, not a bad option, fish was fresh, better than a lot of road side fish n chips.. But not sure for a 2nd visit as a tourist.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sourdough Joe’s also viewed

 

Been to Sourdough Joe’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sourdough Joe’s, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.