We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klondike Kate's Restaurant

Klondike Kate's Restaurant
1102 3rd Ave, Dawson, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada
867.993.6527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Dawson
Price range: $3 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Step into our authentic gold-rush-era building and you’ll spot many local sourdoughs enjoying a favorite meal. They love us because we use local products and ingredients in our flavourful, beautiful dishes. We love them because they provide us with loyal patronage and a steady supply of Yukon-made herbs, produce, fish and more. We serve fresh, creative, North American cuisine finer than the grub stampeders had to eat.Come in and enjoy great food and a friendly atmosphere either inside our fully licensed dining room or out on our covered patio. Featuring smoked BBQ fare, scrumptious homemade desserts, and fabulous breakfast and brunch specials.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had a very good BBQ pork chops, my wife had a nice Pulled Chicken Sandwich. this is one of the better restaurants in town.

The prices are reasonable for the quality of the food you get. Service was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    49
    19
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Klondike Kate's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Loved the food at this restaurant and will return next time in Dawson.
We make is a point to go to this restaurant and we were glad we did.
Prices were similar to Vancouver; quality of food was excellent.

Kate's was recommended to us by locals; now I am am recommending it to you.
I see mixed reviews on this site, so all I can say is try it and judge for yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth it's weight in Gold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from visiting Dawson City and stayed At Klondike Kate's Cabins and Restaurant. When we checked in I asked to see the menu and was pleasantly surprised at the sophistication of some of the dishes. I ordered the Duck Breast which was amazing, while my sweetie had the steak cooked to perfection. Get there early because they don't take reservations and you don't want to miss this place! Oh! and order the guacamole eggs Bennie for breakfast, YUM!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good coffee but prepare to pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We didnt eat there, only have drinks there due to inbetween meal time. Coffee is espresso machine which is great find for small tourist town. It was made well enough. But latte is $5!!!! Which is expensive! However, local beer at happy hour is only $3, and coctails only $6. It was full when we were there, food looks good too on other's table

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome food! Great prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ate here twice while in Dawson and both times the food was amazing!! You can really tell the quality of the food here. Everything was fresh, and all made from scratch. Dishes we had were the burgers, the pulled chicken sandwhich, the beef sandwhich (can't remember what it was called) and the pork taco app....all the dishes were delicious!! Portions were huge. Price is just right! The service was a bit slow and not super friendly, but not terrible. If we return to Dawson we won't eat anywhere else!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klondike Kate's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Klondike Kate's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klondike Kate's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.