We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Building in Dawson” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danoja Zho Cultural Centre

Danoja Zho Cultural Centre
1131 Front Street, Dawson, Yukon, Canada
+1 867-993-6768
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 things to do in Dawson
Attraction details
Cortes Island, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Nice Building in Dawson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

From everything else that we have experienced up in Northern Canada we did not think this was on the top of our list.

The building is beautiful right on the Yukon River. The museum has tours, a gift shop, and the exhibition it self.

We did think it was expensive for what we got to see.

Hope that helps.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Go to this. Great little museum, great tour guide, great film, great gift shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you have any interest in native cultures and can do just one thing in Dawson, I would advise coming here. You get so much for your $7 admission. You buy your ticket at the checkout counter of the gift shop right inside the door, and then enter a large room where there's a bead work exhibit before starting your tour. Admission includes a tour as well as a short film in the beautiful theater. Our tour guide, Alison, is an adorable, entertaining, very informative young woman, a great-great-great granddaughter of Chief Isaac, the tribe's leader during the 1896-98 Gold Rush era. She interweaves personal anecdotes (her father taking her fishing, how her grandmother taught her to remove porcupine quills, her participation in a singing group) with information about the displays in the main part of the center, a round room the construction of which echoes the design of traditional buildings. Without belabor nog any point, yet considerately answering every question, she efficiently conveyed to us the culture, history, land rights negotiations, and prospects of her people. After her tour, I watched the excellent film, which quoted several Respected Elders and reinforced points Alison had made, and spent some money in the gift shop filled with wonderful stuff like beaded jewelry, fur boots, and birchbark baskets made by ladies of the community. This center was so thoughtfully conceived and executed, and is staffed with such friendly and gracious women, that it became one of my fondest memories of my trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali Park, AK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fascinating, beautiful visitor center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited June 2012. We loved learning about the other side of the Dawson City gold rush story. Beautiful historic and modern artifacts and art.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Danoja Zho - native museum and culture centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My 13 year old son and I went here in late August 2013. We found it very interesting. A good film to start off with, talking about the natives of the past and present. It focused on a chief who had the good sense to shelter his people from the gold rush and move them outside of the city at the time. He preserved their heritage and "gave" songs and stories to their equals to a native tribe in Alaska for safe-keeping. Simply fabulous! The museum was very interesting. We were lucky enough to be there when one of the staff was making bannock bread so we got to try some. Yummy!!!!! She has won awards for it so I highly recommend it!

Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. We didn't have the time to take a guided tour so we went around the museum on our own.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lots of great information about the local Gwitchin Indians and their history. Interesting lectures and shows.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danoja Zho Cultural Centre also viewed

 

Been to Danoja Zho Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danoja Zho Cultural Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.