We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with Kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonanza Gold Motel & R.v. Park

Bonanza Gold Motel & R.v. Park
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dawson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bonanza Gold Motel & R.v. Park
Save
You added Bonanza Gold Motel & R.v. Park to your Saves list
Bag 5000, Dawson, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dawson
Frenchburg, Kentucky
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Large rooms with Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This motel is on the outskirts of the downtown area. Check in was quick and staff was friendly. We got a nice large room (very spacious) on the bottom floor. The room had a long table against the wall that was a good place to eat, work on laptop and set your stuff. It had a kitchen area with bigger than usual refrigerator. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Everything was clean. My only complaint was the internet service. The internet was very slow and they limit you to 40MB! I had a hard time just sending plain old emails....no skype here. There is a camp ground behind the motel. There is some noise here due to the location by the road and the RV\camp ground.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I live in Alaska and rented a motorhome for the first time with a friend. We drove to Dawson on the Top of the World Highway and then stayed at the Bonanza Gold Park. It was close to town but far enough so that you could hike around other areas. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, everything worked fine and we had a great experience. We had bikes so we just rode into town. We also had a dog and they were dog friendly as well. I think it's the best place in Dawson if you have a motorhome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldendale, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had 2 small dogs with us, so we were put into the pet section of the motel. I did not have a problem with that. We did though have a room between mine workers and that was a very un-nerving stay. Because of their work hours, they were coming and going all hours of the day and night, and running their trucks. Room is old and shabby and could do with a major remodel. Rug was worn thru in spots but did not smell of pet ordors. If you are a person that likes to keep in touch with the outside world, do not expect good internet service. Management turns the internet service at 9:00 pm and it does not come back on until 7:00 am. If you go over your quota of MB, you will not be allotted new MB until after 11:00 AM. We were not told any of this information when we checked in and when we asked about the service, the manager was rude in his explanation on their service. They did have a laundry room but half of the washing machines were not working and only some of the dryers were working.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Rooms are spacious, basic but effective furniture, large working table that is an advantage for us. Noise isolation is average. Operators are usually very kind.
WiFi in Dawson belongs to the previous millennium and many hotels allow you a Quota of 20-80 MB; for regular room you’ll get 40M and they will charge you 5$ for another quota – I felt they could give it for free (it was before check-out, just checking some mails), as Eldorado Dawson are doing for a much bigger quota (250M). I hesitated between 3-4*, this last bad taste convinced me for the 3*.
It’s not a bed value, but comparable to Eldorado hotel where we stayed the night before (see my review), value is not more than average.

(If you’ve found this review helpful, you can let me and others know it by clicking the green Yes below)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We've stayed here many timesand have always had a wonderful time, Downtown is crowded with drinkers gamblers and tourists making for a loud time. Being slightly out of town makes this a wonderful time. Room 210 is the absolute best with a large private balcony with swing and table. The room features a new bif flat screen TV and jacuzzi with a king size bed, worth every extra cent they ask. A wonderful choice always.
The internet is slow and restricted however, this has only happened in the last year and its too bad for everyone.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the jacuzzi suite, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Rooms were nothing special, not cramped, but not so comfortable, with dated and/or very cheap furnishings. Was quite noisy with truck traffic on the highway and workmen who stayed at the hotel rising early to warm up their diesel trucks. Internet was very slow and they restricted you to 10 megs upload/download. (but I asked for more and got it). desk staff were friendly and helpful, and housekeeping was adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed in a room with 1 queen and couch, it was very clean and good mattresses. The staff at the office was very friendly and charming.

It's only about 2 kilometers or so from Dawson City.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonanza Gold Motel & R.v. Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonanza Gold Motel & R.v. Park

Address: Bag 5000, Dawson, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Dawson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dawson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonanza Gold Motel & R.v. Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.