We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be the best Japanese food in town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Woo Mai Sushi Japanese Restaurant

Woo Mai Sushi Japanese Restaurant
45695 Hocking Avenue, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 6Z6 , Canada
604-792-0799
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 199 Restaurants in Chilliwack
Restaurant details
Hope, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Used to be the best Japanese food in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The quality of this restaurant has gone downhill here over the last year. This used to be THE place to go to for sushi. The chief James paid attention to quality and detail. Not sure what happened to this restaurant. My last meal was awful. The tempura had an aweful taste, which carried over into the sushi rolls we ordered. The sushi didn’t seem fresh and well prepared. Willing to give it another chance due to a long time history of good food. Will update.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese restaurants in Chilliwack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I absolutely love the atmosphere here. The food is also amazing. One of the only Japanese places that actually uses white meat in their chicken teriyaki, opposed to the skin/fat covered chicken you normally get. The rolls are super messy and usually fall apart, but they still taste great.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good food at a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Chilliwack does have several newer sushi restaurants that are of good quality, this is an older one but it's pretty decent. I am not a big raw fish eating type, but I do enjoy their rolls, and their bento boxes (both lunch and dinner) come with a lot of food for a good price. I'm never able to finish it. Love that they make a better variety of veggie tempure beyond just carrots and yams.....their mix includes broccoli and asparagus which I've got to say makes a delicious tempura. This is a place I'll usually go for lunch with co-workers. If I'm going out for dinner I'll usually go to Seven sushi because their menu is a little more creative.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands), Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Sushi done by James......awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

this is the best sushi restaurant in Chilliwack.
we've never had bad sushi ever, James always says hello to you when you enter and goodbye when your leaving, sometimes the service is a bit slow, not always though.
You sit in your own cube for more privacy.
Bonus is that James usually sends you a sample sushi plate to try, and a nice fruit desert at the end of your meal.
I've eaten here many times and have sampled at the other sushi places around, none of them come close, good but not great!
Across from O'Connor Dodge dealership. Nice atmosphere.
Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woo Mai Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Chilliwack, British Columbia
Chilliwack, British Columbia
 
Chilliwack, British Columbia
 

Been to Woo Mai Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woo Mai Sushi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.