We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vedder River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vedder River Inn to your Saves list
Vedder River Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5788 Vedder Road, Chilliwack, British Columbia BC V2R, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chilliwack
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night while we were in Chilliwack on business and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. The place is newly renovated so the room was clean and up to date, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the price was very reasonable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Chilliwack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
26
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here several times over the last few years whenever we come to town to visit friends of ours.We always stayed here because the rooms we're clean and the price was reasonable.This time however I was very disappointed in our room!!! Room #3 if you are wondering.The room looked run down and grubby.Large stain on the carpet,juice splashes on the wall beside the bedside lamp.There was hair and a pube in the bathtub,tooth paste in the sink and a mosquito corpse squished and left on the ceiling of the bathroom.We got into town late in the evening and the last thing I wanted was to be dealing with a dirty room.Needless to say I am not staying at the Vedder River Inn again when we come to visit.I don't expect the Ritz for the price but I do expect clean!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am sorry you found the room not up to par unlike all of the other splendid times you have stayed with us. As mentioned in the past upon check in there is someone at the desk 24 hours and our friendly staff would have been more than happy to have moved you or upgraded you. That is our policy if such a rare occasion like this happens. Typically when a guest finds the room not up to par the customer comes down and says something right away upon check in which gives us an opportunity to of course rectify the problem. In saying so we hope that your 2nd night stay with us of was more enjoyable.
On behalf of the Vedder River Inn we apologize and hope you give us another try.
Have a great day and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

As a heavy traveler, I never know what to expect when studying at small independent hotels. The Vedder River Inn was a real find! From the outside, it looks like an ordinary motel style hotel with outside entry doors, but don't let that fool you. The rooms are well appointed, and very clean. The bed was crisp and very clean. Plenty of pillows and good lighting was a delight. The room's colors are soothing and trendy. The staff was very nice to me and I was definitely a city slicker from out of town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next time you visit our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is standard but very nice. I found the rooms to be really BIG and were clean and everything you would need if you're stopping through.

The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. My boyfriend had a big skype interview the afternoon we checked out and the manager was so helpful helping us access another room after we had already checked out so he can have internet access and a calm place to do the interview. This goes above and beyond any normal service you might have and I so appreciated it.

If I'm ever in Chilliwack again, I would definitely come again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you visit Chilliwack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The inn itself is basic, clean, and better than your typical motel. What made our stay was the amazing service provided by the staff. In particular Gina and Lori.
Both went out of their way to be helpful as well as their constant happy smiles, professionalism and warmth.
I would return here just because of the service these two provided.
Close to a good restaurant and a pub, plus fast food if that's your thing.

Room Tip: Get a room with a king if traveling as a couple. The other rooms are two long doubles (good for 2 pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I came in late with no reservation on a very busy weekend. The staff accommodated my son and myself with a price matched by Expedia. We appreciated the comfy beds and big rooms. The bathrooms need a little work as the toilet paper holder was missing. The only thing we noticed was that the only restaurant open at 11 pm was Boston Pizza which was quite a distance away.

Room Tip: The parking lot on the ground floor is tight for space, but it beats taking luggage up the stairs. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, General Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
It makes us happy to hear that the staff was able to accommodate you on short notice due to almost being full and the price was right. We do our best to price match. We are also glad you found the beds very comfortable. We are sorry about the toilet roll holder and thank you for letting us know and this matter has been brought up to our maintenance department. It is also a shame you had to drive a distance for a bite to eat. For future reference we have a 24 hour McDonalds 1/2 a block away. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was a bit small than expected. No microwave and had to go to the office to use it. Service was poor from the moment of reservation to the time to check out. Had to wait the whole day and had to call seven times just to get the reservation confirmation emailed. The gentleman at the front desk upon arrival was polite and helpful but the lady on the next day was unfriendly and cold. Overall, wasn't much of a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are sorry to hear our service was not exceptional. Your indication of staff will help us review this situation with them. We have a variety of rooms, and not all have microwaves at this time. We thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vedder River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedder River Inn

Address: 5788 Vedder Road, Chilliwack, British Columbia BC V2R, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Chilliwack
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chilliwack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedder River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 50 unit Chilliwack hotel, 5 minutes south off of HWY #1, Exit #119. Nearby Cultus Lake, Canada Lands, and the Vedder River. Luxury suites available. Multipurpose room also available for small meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vedder River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedder River Hotel Chilliwack

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vedder River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.