We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint overnight getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45886 Wellington Avenue, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 2C7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Chilliwack
New Westminster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint overnight getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed one night on a little getaway from the city. Room was very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Had wonderful character and was much smaller than more modern hotel rooms; but still everything one would need (so happy there was a kuerig in the room) the only suggestion I would like to see is a newer tv as well as new pillows-ours were flatish. Great location with some lovely shops and great to have both a restaurant and a pub in the location.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so keep that in mind if you have access issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and to provide your comments. Making sure that the rooms meet your every need is important to us - so thanks for your comments. Another option for your next stay would be to stay in one of our Antique themed rooms that would be larger than the European sized Comfort room you had for this stay. Having the unique shops to walk to and the café and pub in the hotel does make for a great and relaxing getaway weekend. Thanks for staying - we'll look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
12
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Found this one out by a local who recommended it as we didn't plan on staying in Chilliwack. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Hotel appears to have been refurbished recently, our room had a claw foot bath and toilet. We found the room spacious and comfortable. The cafe attached to the Hotel was good and the staff lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and providing your review comments. You are correct that we have refurbished the rooms to have them keep their historical character and yet be comfortable with the amenities and comforts you expect. The convenience of a good café that serves you well and with great food certainly makes the stay enjoyable and convenient. Again, thanks for staying - and hopefully we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and we loved the old claw footed bath tub in the room. Parking was provided at back of hotel so not far to walk with luggage. Food available in cafe attached to hotel which was excellent and there was 10% off of breakfast as we were guests in hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hey we're so pleased that among all the choices you had, you chose to stay with us! Providing exquisite service and impeccable cleanliness is what we want to provide to all our guests. Having the Royal Café in the hotel with it's excellent selection of food is just another plus for all our guests. Thanks for staying with us - look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tairua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights whilst on a fabulous fishing trip. Staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. Room was clean and spacious and had great free WiFi. Whole place had a lovely atmosphere and heaps of history. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. I ate at The District Pub opposite which served cold beer and the best burgers ever !
Would definitely stay again - thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Ah, yes, it was a great fishing trip - take a look at that pic! Thanks so much for staying with us and providing your comments about our hotel. That downtown location does provide for some great options to explore and enjoy variety of foods and drink. We'll look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice place and very clean. Would stay there again and had a lots of old history, very cool. Reasonable rates and staff was very nice. The restaurant downstairs was very nice and have good food also the bar was nice also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for your comments about your stay with us. We do want that the stay provides good value for you, including enjoying the history of the hotel and our community. We look forward to your coming again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our stay at Royal Hotel in Chilliwack, BC was fantastic. The staff was wonderful, the room was spacious and very clean and we loved the bath tub. The food was very good as well. We highly recommend this wonderful Heritage Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for your evaluation of our hotel, the food and the overall experience over the weekend with the wedding. We enjoy making sure all arrangements and services are looked after - as well as making sure the cleanliness is impeccable! Look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family & I stayed to nights for my sisters wedding.. Our experience was fabulous! The hotel is updated heritage style, loved it!! Super cozy, Very clean, Good food, Great service, fantastic downtown location & great prices!! will be staying there again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for your comments about how you enjoyed our hotel for the weekend wedding that you attended here. The heritage look can certainly add to the setting for weddings. Pleased that our service took care of all that was part of your experience. We'll look forward to your coming back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 45886 Wellington Avenue, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 2C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Chilliwack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Chilliwack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming heritage Hotel; Circa 1908; All rooms non-smoking; with free local calls; air-conditioning; cable TV; private bath; some antique-style rooms with claw tub, vintage furniture, hardwood floors; deluxe Jacuzzi Suite; free wireless high-speed internet/guest computer; hiking, cycling, fishing, golfing, Cultus Lake, Harrison Hot Springs, Minter Gardens nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.