We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extortion cancellation policy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fuller Lake Motel

Save Saved
You added Fuller Lake Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fuller Lake Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   9300 Smiley Rd, Chemainus, British Columbia V0R 1K4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Chemainus
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Extortion cancellation policy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel owner is a INSULT to hardworking hoteliers.  He has a 7DAY CANCELLATION for a property that does not have the quality of a Motel 6.  It is a shame that he does not use his skill to create a nicer hotel instead of using it to get people to pay for a room they do not want, or in many cases do not use.  We reserved online at 11 am and arrived by 4 pm.  After looking at the property, when we stated that we wanted to cancel our stay, he informed us that he would charge us for the night anyway.  There was no reasoning with him since he holds all the power:  our credit card number, his ridiculous cancellation policy and his unbelievable indifference to what the customer wants.  It's all about the money.   Unfortunately he is teaching his son the same unscrupulous business practices.  STAY AWAY.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satpal S, General Manager at Fuller Lake Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am sorry about your experience. In December of 2012, we have changed ownership, and we have been renovating the motel to meet our standards. The 7 day cancellation policy has been changed, and we are trying our best to create a nicer hotel in Chemainus. Again, we are sorry about your experience. Hopefully, your experience will be better this time. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Interior was very clean and spacious, the bathroom was functioning and the towels were soft. There were four of us and the person on desk offered us extra towels, shampoo, soaps and coffee. we stayed 3 nights for a family reunion and every night we came back to the motel, our beds were made and the rooms were cleaned!, overall our stay was good for the value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satpal S, General Manager at Fuller Lake Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add a review. We appreciate the comment. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

In the area for Island Spirit Geocaching Mega event. Didnt need anything fancy...just a quiet place to.sleep. There were three of us,.2 adults and our teen. The room was very small and crowded. We appreciated the mini fridge. I think there was a microwave but we didnt use it. The room was clean, and turned out to be fairly quiet. We could sleep with the window open. We had to ask for a third set of towels for our daughter. The only thing that bugged me was that there was a lack of plugs. I travel with medical equipment and needed a plug in so was very glad I brought along an extension cord to reach the only available plug in the room. It did make charging things quite awkward as the plug in in the bathroom wouldnt even charge an iTouch fully overnight. Anyways, for $85.00 per night plus tax, it was okay for two nights. Room needs some updating, but it was clean.

Room Tip: if you want quiet, try to get one of the rooms perpendicular to highway. We were in 126.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satpal S, General Manager at Fuller Lake Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Since your last visit, we have undergone an ownership change. We will address and fix the issues you had. Thank you for the review. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

this place was really clean, the motel staff was nice, they offered to let us use their BBQ. it was a littile difficult to find the place but when we did, it was great! i would totally recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: any room, they are sound proof and ours had an A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satpal S, General Manager at Fuller Lake Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

7 day cancelation policy, who does this?argued with manager for over 30 minutes to get 50% back. talked to another couple and they charged extra $14.00 for kitchenette.our room had kitchenette.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satpal S, General Manager at Fuller Lake Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I apologize for your experience. Since December 2012, we have changed ownership and the 7 day cancellation policy has been revoked. I am also sorry for the bad customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I stayed at the Fuller Lake Motel with my wife and two children for the weekly rate of $375.00 for the "Suite". I had reserved for only 3 people because my wife wasn't going to be coming but at the last minute was able to make it, so when I showed up with her also they wanted another $25.00. Then they wanted a $100 damage deposit which at 11:30 at night in the pouring rain with two tired kids I wasn't about to argue. The "Suite" was a small bedroom attached to another small room with an old couch, table and 3 chairs, small coffee pot and microwave sitting on a loose wooden shelf, a metal sink in a cabinet, loose water faucet and their idea of renovated is a new toilet and newer carpet. Everything else was old and out dated. None of the sinks or bathtub had plugs so I had to get that from the office. The owner said the beds wouldn't be changed for our visit but we would get fresh towells daily. I said every two days would be fine and on day 3 had to go to the office to get fresh towels. I had to tell the owners to vacum the room and leave us toilet paper and room coffee. Three times I went to the office for something and no one would come to the desk. I definately will not ever stay at this place again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satpal S, General Manager at Fuller Lake Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I apologize for the inconveniences you and your family experienced. Since December 2012, I have taken ownership of the motel and have been renovation the motel to today's standard. We have refinished the kitchenette, carpet, kitchen, bedding, along with adding newer appliances and a flat screen television. We are sorry about your previous experience at Fuller Lake Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

They absolutely will not allow you to cancel after seeing the place. Believe me, you will want to cancel as well. They'll pretty much charge you for the whole stay, even if you insist on cancelling. It's what they've got to resort to to make a buck. Pathetic.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satpal S, Manager at Fuller Lake Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I truly apologize for your inconvenience at Fuller Lake Motel. There has been a change in ownership in December 2012, and the cancellation policy has been changed. Hopefully, this problem will not occur again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fuller Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuller Lake Motel

Address: 9300 Smiley Rd, Chemainus, British Columbia V0R 1K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Chemainus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Chemainus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fuller Lake Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit our newly renovated motel. We offer clean comfortable rooms at a very affordable price and we are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Our property is located on 2.5 acres of beautifully wooded and landscaped grounds overlooking the stunning BC coastal mountain range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fuller Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuller Lake Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.