We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Sushi and great buffet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi California

Sushi California
770 Oliver Street, Williams Lake, British Columbia V2G 1N1, Canada
250-305-0035
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Williams Lake, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi and great buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Sushi California has consistently fresh food...and a huge variety of Japanese food! The buffet has a great selection and is a good price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality Japanese in the Caribou?!? - YES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stopped here for a Saturday night supper with a travel group, and was surprised we got in right away. They have a little separated room at one end, they put a couple tables together - it was perfect for the 10 of us, and made it feel like a special event was arranged just for us.
The interior is lovely, with a definite authentic ambiance. The staff were very friendly and attentive, especially considering we were a significant group just dropping in with no advance notice.
The food came quickly, and was delicious. We're all from Vancouver and Victoria, so are definitely dubious about sushi in the Interior, but it was awesome, and I'd stack this restaurant against the best I've had in Richmond or Vancouver!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Sushi You'll Find in WL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great variety and excellent quality! Sometimes the service isn't the best, but the owners ALWAYS make sure you're happy in the end :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.Lake,B.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I agree with the #1 rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant in town. Naomi and staff always make you feel so welcome.They know how to serve, just the right amount of attention that isn't overbearing but they look after your needs.They have a great attention to detail.
The portions are fair.I love that at the end of the meal they give you either a strawberry or an orange. Great presentation always.We go there at least 2 times a month quite often once or twice a week every time I've been the bathrooms are very clean ,although the paper towel should be placed differently, not over the T.Paper so you don't drip water on the tp,maybe a cover would be good.
We have food restrictions and we never feel like we are putting any one out by our restricted diet. In fact they know what we like and if there are things on the buffet that we can't eat,they just bring alternatives without even asking.I always feel that my dollar is well spent when I go there.Our children,we have four, all love going each one has a favorite dish that they order.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Too much rice on the buffet - eat al a carte! The sashimi was nicely done, buy the gomae was made with tahini. Surprisingly good for Williams Lake, and run by actual Japanese.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi California also viewed

Williams Lake, Cariboo
Williams Lake, Cariboo
 
Williams Lake, Cariboo
Williams Lake, Cariboo
 

Been to Sushi California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.