We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Williams Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Williams Lake to your Saves list
Ramada Williams Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1118 Lakeview Crescent, Williams Lake, British Columbia V2G 1A3, Canada (Formerly Overlander Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Williams Lake
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Ramada offers both good clean comfortable rooms, a great location with views across the valley, and nearness to town centre (where there is a great laundromat)The next door pub is an asset if you want to break out, but we particularly enjoyed Carmen's Restaurant, views across the lake, and more importantly excellent food at a good price.The complimentary breakfast there is also a plus.All In all, a great stay when on the the long long road North and South!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, Front Office Manager at Ramada Williams Lake, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments for the Ramada in Williams Lake. We are glad you enjoyed Carmens' Restaurant as I am sure you have eaten at a good variety of restaurants. Excellent food at a good price is always a bonus. I am not sure where you were traveling but you did come a long way! We all hope you both enjoyed your adventure in beautiful British Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
9
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I think this is the nicest Ramada I've stayed in for a few reasons, and I will detail why.

What I liked:
-I stayed in a room with a king bed and it was soft and cosy and offered a great sleep
-My room was clean and the bathrooms were up to date
-There is a HUGE view out of the rooms that face the highway of a lot of William's Lake which is quite nifty
-The breakfast! Ramada complimentary breakfast is taken to a WHOLE other level here. They have Carmen's restaurant attached, and they offer bacon, eggs and hash browns, or stacks of pancakes, OR continental breakfast (with FRUIT SALAD not just old fruits) for your complimentary breakfast. Coffee is good and our server was absolutely lovely, going above and beyond which made a great start to our morning. I wish I could remember her name. This is great for kids, as the breakfast options would be easy with little eaters.
-The towels at other Ramadas are not the softest of the bunch, which is partially why I don't LOVE staying at them, but GUESS WHAT! The towels here are soft!!! It's the small things, right?

What I didn't like?
-Basically nothing. This isn't a 5 star, but in terms of value and for a Ramada, I was pretty content. It isn't the newest, but where it counted, it delivered.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, Front Office Manager at Ramada Williams Lake, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and for being specific in your comments. It was wonderful to hear that the Ramada in Williams Lake was the nicest Ramada you have been in. I agree, the views from some of our hotel rooms are really great, it is nice to be reminded that we have something special. And you are right...the soft towels, cozy comfortable beds and wonderful breakfasts, very suitable for families, does make a difference! I do not know which server you had for breakfast but I can think of more than one server in Carmens' Restaurant who would fit into your description of lovely and who added a great start to your day. We hope the rest of your summer was warm and sunny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

On our road trip to Bella Coola we stayed here both coming and going. The rooms were large and comfortable, complete with fridge. Breakfast was warm and welcoming. The proprietor seemed to take great pride in her enterprise and it showed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, Front Office Manager at Ramada Williams Lake, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We sure hope that your travels to Bella Coola and back were everything you hoped for, you have travelled so far! We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and wish you all the best in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was in Williams Lake for 2 weeks and stayed at the Ramada Hotel. The suite was clean and roomy with a great view of the lake. They even brought a TV into my bedroom for me.

The staff are so accommodating and made my stay so enjoyable. From the lovely young lady that cleaned my room to the Manager of the hotel.

The food in the hotel restaurant is the best in town. Included is a complimentary breakfast made fresh as I am not a fan of the buffet style breakfast.

The Ramada will be my first choice hotel on my return visit.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the suites with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, Front Office Manager at Ramada Williams Lake, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We are so glad that we were able to accommodate you, and your husband when he joined you, while in Williams Lake. Thank you for being a wonderful guest for the two weeks, whom everyone enjoyed! We would like to come and enjoy the Calgary hospitality as well, but if not we would love to see you when you come back to Williams Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is in a nice spot with a good view. It is up high and enough away from highway to get a good nights sleep. However I was not that impressed with the standard of the room cleanliness. One of our face clothes had a huge grey stain on it and the dust on the shelf under the sink unit showed no one had cleaned there for ages. The next door licensed restaurant which is part of the Ramada served good food but to get to it you have to go round the back into a dingy door rather like you were trying to get into some illegal gaming joint! The service and food there was excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, Front Office Manager at Ramada Williams Lake, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding the Ramada Williams Lake and the Overlander Pub. We always try to provide clean rooms, it is very important to our head housekeeper, and the owners of course. We are very sorry that you got a bad impression of the rooms because of the stained facecloth, which definitely should not have been in your room, and of the dust under the sink. We will be making changes to remind all housekeepers what is expected in each and every room. You also commented on the entrance to the Overlander Pub, which really does need a facelift or a complete change. What we have accomplished is taking the old lettering off the Pub entrance door, repainted the door and we are waiting for the new sign. Hopefully more changes can be made in the near future. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service in the pub and that you had a good nights sleep in the hotel. Wishing you fun adventures and safe traveling while in beautiful BC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the hill just as you get into town providing a decent view of these and surrounding area. The staff are happy and helpful. Gaylene is lovely! Kim is hilarious and the service is fantastic and warm. Carmen's restaurant next door is charming and serves great good food! Definitely good value.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, Front Office Manager at Ramada Williams Lake, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay, our staff, the food and the atmosphere! Thanks for the review! It may help other travellers decide where to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here on business in April and I was not overly impressed with the room. The floors creak a lot and the rooms were quite dated. Dressers missing handles, taps that leak etc. the bed was comfortable but I think that the animals they allow here have taken it's toll on the room. The restaurant was a nice surprise. Excellent breakfast although the service was slow. The check in was friendly And the free cookie was nice but all in all the rooms reminded me of camp rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R, Front Office Manager at Ramada Williams Lake, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are very sorry you were not impressed with one of our hotel rooms, but are glad you enjoyed the quality of your breakfast! The rooms were completely renovated in 2012 to a modern Ramada room design. We were surprised to find that the hotel room reminded you of a camp room. The drawers in the living room area are designed to open with a grooved ledge where as the dressers in the bedrooms have the handles. We checked to make sure we didn't miss a broken one. Your room was not a pet room so hopefully no one had their pet in that room. We have designated pet friendly rooms as we find that more people are traveling with their pets. We do take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and do try hard to keep them looking good with the most recent renovations. We will have the maintenance check for the leaking taps because that can be annoying. Please feel free to talk to the owner, he is local and has managed the hotel for many years. He has seen your trip advisor comment and appreciates each review. It may help us improve or give us ideas on what people want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Williams Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Williams Lake

Address: 1118 Lakeview Crescent, Williams Lake, British Columbia V2G 1A3, Canada (Formerly Overlander Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Williams Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Williams Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Williams Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Williams Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Williams Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.