We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique rail trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Skeena

The Skeena
British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #524 of 1,483 Attractions in British Columbia
Type: Scenic Railroads, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic train ride by VIA Rail that covers 725 miles in northern British Columbia, taking visitors to Native cultural sites and through spectacular mountain landscapes.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unique rail trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Four of us travelled from Prince Rupert to Jasper on the Skeena Train. It was the quirkiest train trip ever. There were very few of us on the train, mostly Brits and there was almost a party like atmosphere for the whole trip. The staff were wonderful and kept us informed of interesting things along the route. The engineer alerted us to wildlife and we stopped a few times and got off the train. We stopped at Penny, a 5 person community with a post office. We dropped off some orange juice to a hermit who lives along the line. The food was adequate, the company great, tea, coffee, fruit, biscuits and muffins freely available. Keep $12 handy to buy the train whistle. You need to be aware that train does not always keep to schedule. They are at the mercy of the commercial trains and have to get into sidings when these take priority. Don't be put off - an experience not to be missed and of course terrific scenery.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the best train trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This 2 day train trip from Jasper to Prince Rupert on Via Rail is fabulous. In winter the scenery is nothing but spectacular. The two car train (of which one is a domed observation car) is comfortable and the staff are great. The overnight stop is OK as Prince George is a true working town ( lumber and the railway), but our hotel was fine and only about 500 metres from the station.

The train travels through snow covered mountains, alongside frozen rivers and through birch and aspen forests. As all the leaves are gone the scenery is open and not hidden by the forest. Frozen lakes with unusual (for Australians) sights such as sheds for ice fishing complete with woodpile and fire on the ice, are commonplace.

There were only 8 passengers when we did the trip in Feb 2012, so lots of room and good company.

A great way to see this part of Canada

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Add it to your bucket list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This train takes 2 days so you need to book a hotel in Prince George for the overnight stop. The train ride is amazing, it goes through some of the most beautiful scenery you can imagine. There is food/drinks available or book in touring for that all inclusive deal. I don't think there's any need though, the economy trip was fantastic. The staff were great, they sure know their stuff. If you get the chance, buy the book that one of the staff, Tracy MacLean has written, use it as a guide to follow the route and see some extras that you wouldn't see otherwise. Sit back and enjoy the ride.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing scenic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was our first ride on a VIA passenger train. The conductor and other staff were fun and friendly to visit with. We ended up with a whole car practically to ourselves, and they provided complimentary wine because we were on our honeymoon.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Skeena Rail - Jasper to Prince Rupert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We would class this experience as good. We travelled from Jasper to Prince Rupert stopping off overnight in Prince George at the Coast Inn of the North a 10 minute walk from the railway station (our tour operator did not advise us but if you take an overnight bag you can leave your main suitcases on the train overnight). The officials were very good and entertaining! We were in tourist class which enabled us to go into the domed car. We did find there was a bad draught from the air con which unfortunately made it uncomfortable and the food we were not impressed with (unfortunately all food served is cold) but snacks and beverages were freely available in the lounge. The officials/guides were excellent pointing out many attractions/wild life and the views and wildlife were wonderful.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skeena also viewed

Prince Rupert, British Columbia
Canada, North America
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Skeena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Skeena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.