We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food tasty and pleasingly presented.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Ever

Pho Ever
1669 Pear Street, British Columbia V8P 2A5 , Canada
250-388-0028
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,975 of 13,280 restaurants in British Columbia
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Sooke
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food tasty and pleasingly presented.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had a super first time visit to this eatery in Nov.l of 2013. What a nice experience. Firstly, the decor is comforting and at the same time attractive. The menu is largely Korean. Not being familiar with Korean food , our grp. found the wait staff most helpful and very pleasant. One did not feel uncomfortable making various queries re the menu offerings. Further the food was attractively presented and pleased all in company. A repeat visit would be a pleasure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    2
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Unprofessional”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My friend asked for "not spicy", but couldn't eat what they brought. When we told them about it, instead of simply and politely exchanging it, they argued that she didn't order clearly enough, that she shouldn't have eaten any of it at all, etc. etc., and blamed my friend. She didn't want to make a scene, so she accepted it (and the charge on the bill), ordered another of the same with "no pepper at all". She ate the second one, and took the first spicy one home to rinse off the pepper. A good restaurant would have exchanged it without hesitation, but I guess they really needed the $10. I'll never go there again and I'll tell this story to anyone whenever we talk about Korean food. Pho ever? Never.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been here several times and each time had the Pho Tai. The broth is good and the portion size is perfect. The last time I went, we were the only people in the restaurant and the waitress repeatedly paced up and down beside our table which was a bit weird. Overall though, good food and fast service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We went and ate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was a new experience for the four of us. Our hostess was gracious and prompt to seat us in a quiet area. The main room can be noisy. The miso soup was good as were the rolls. We shared three dishes as a main. The chicken and beef dishes had the same vegetables and noodles. The third a rice dish was fair. The vegetables looked and tasted tired. The sense was they had been sitting in steam trays. We went; we ate. One might try the soups or other dishes as an alternative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pho Ever -- seriously no.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

A local family took us there for the Vietnamese Pho recently. Seriously it was the worst pho I have ever eaten. The soup was too salty, and , believe me, there was no Vietnamese mint! No red hot chilli! Honestly, for real Vietnamese Pho, please come and eat at Thanh Thanh, Richmond, Melbourne.
I heard that restaurant is good with Korean food. Probably they should just stick to the food that they know best. Leave pho to the real Vietnamese chefs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Ever also viewed

Avola, British Columbia
Union Bay, British Columbia
 
Rosedale, British Columbia
Pouce Coupe, British Columbia
 

Been to Pho Ever? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Ever, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.