We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Dragon

The Blue Dragon
7611 49 Ave Red Deer, Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
403-309-9906
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 264 Restaurants in Red Deer
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Well I really shouldn't give such a great review because sitting is limited and this place has excellent food!! Hidden off the beaten track but well worth the find:)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had been led to believe that this restaurant served Vietnamese food, so we were somewhat disappointed to find it was Thai Food. If you're into Thai Food, this would be a good choice. Freindly Staff , Good service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent! My favorite restaurant in town. Don't let the simplicity of the decoration fool you...the food is amazing

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Service consistently sucks now :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Blue Dragon has been one of my favourite restaurants for the past few years. Sadly, the service is now so bad that I won't be going back. :( Wednesday was the third time I have gone for lunch and waited and waited and waited...This time we arrived just after 11:30 and there were two other tables of people in the restaurant. One was already eating and the others had ordered. We ordered immediately. After watching take out orders leaving the restaurant for 30 minutes, I asked if our order had been forgotten. The waitress told us that it was just so busy in the restaurant that the food was slow. I told her that when we came there were only two orders to be filled. She just laughed and walked away. After another 15 minutes, I asked the waitress if we should just leave. She said our order was coming right up. About 3 minutes later we got our order, two bowls of soup, nothing difficult, nothing special ordered. She did forget one bowl of rice and I went to the kitchen and asked for it.

For anyone else who is frustrated by the bad service at Blue Dragon, I would suggest Rueon Thai over by the northside Save-on. It's good and the service is fast and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The food is tasty and reasonably priced. The location is not ideal (industrial area of town). Also the decor lacks character. Flowers, candles, table cloths would all make it a much more inviting place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Dragon also viewed

 
Red Deer, Alberta
Red Deer, Alberta
 

Been to The Blue Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.