We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service for Group of 34!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony Romas

Tony Romas
#60-5250 22 Street, Red Deer, Alberta T4R2T4, Canada
(403) 358-3223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 264 Restaurants in Red Deer
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Service for Group of 34!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Manager Dave, and servers Chris and Dan did the nearly impossible- give great service to a group of 34, on a Friday night, during the Red Deer Show (the city was at absolute capacity!). They got everyone seated (early), got appetizers and drinks out to the table quickly, didn't lose track of details on all the orders- and kept a great sense of humour and professionalism handling the group. It was an excellent choice for our group, but on a personal level I would add that the food was good quality, many very creative seasonal items in addition to the steaks and ribs, and nice desserts (try sharing the Trio!). Well done, to all the staff at Tony Roma's!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Best baked potato soup, caesar salad and ribs in town! Great and fast service and the food is always fresh. Never had to wait more than 20 minutes for a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Bad experience, but I'd try again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have always loved eating at Tony Roma's, so I don't know what happened here. I ordered the top sirloin and it was tough. My boyfriend had the salmon and it was dried out. This is not what I expect from Tony Roma's, and hopefully they just had an off night. I did not send my steak back because we were with a business associate and I don't like to complain in front of other people, but it should have gone back. I ordered it medium rare and it was cooked properly, so it should not have been tough. Aside from that, the meal was great. My boyfriend had the tortilla soup, which was awesome. My sides of coleslaw and sweet potato fries were delicious, and I always love the brownie with ice cream and raspberry sauce.

Service was good, but because of the poor quality of the steak and salmon (which is, after all, the main part of the meal) I can give this only a 2 star for now. However, based on my past experience with Tony Roma's, I'll be willing to give it another try if I'm ever back in Red Deer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, AB.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tony Romas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a great dining pleasure. The food is always so flavorful and presentation is welcoming. The staff are very attentive and always very pleasant.The riblets and a baked, loaded potatoe make a wonderful lunch experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I always get the chicken breast when there. It was grilled with a spinach artichoke topping that was good. The meal was good but the onion loaf is still my favorite. I would never stop there without ordering it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Romas also viewed

 

Been to Tony Romas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony Romas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.