We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Economy and excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Red Deer City Centre

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Red Deer City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Red Deer City Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4217 Gaetz/50th Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4N 3Z4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 hotels in Red Deer
Drumheller
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hospitality Economy and excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for two nights while a friend was at thte hospital. The staff are incredibly nice, the room was squeeky clean and they offer a complimentary continental breakfast - with pretty good coffee. They offer free WiFi and are located just minutes walk to the hospital. Lots of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    69
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
39
33
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family stayed at this Super 8 for two nights. The hotel was everything one would expect from a Super 8. The rooms were clean, of average size with reasonable beds. There was very little noise from inside the hotel, but a little bit of traffice noise was noticable. This was not an issue for us. The rooms had a fridge, but no microwave. The weather was quite warm, and the air conditioner worked well. It was a bit noisy, and there was a cold breeze everytime the AC kicked in. The hotel had easy access as it is between the two one-way streets, so which ever way you want to go, its an easy turn onto the one way street.

The breakfast was adequate with some hot features (pancakes and scrambled eggs). The serving area was cramped, and the dining area was sometimes full.

Over all this hotel is a do again if we're back in Red Deer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed there for the Sylvan Lake triathlon, the hotel was easy to find, the staff was friendly and helpful, clean, quiet area, good restaurants not too far away. Bed was comfortable. Had to have my own breakfast for the morning of the race as the dining room wasn't open yet, but that's normal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed a night at Super 8 in Red Deer as a stop over for our visit to Edmonton. I found the lady at the front desk friendly and helpful. My family found the rooms comfortable and clean. A 'deluxe' continental breakfast is included with the stay. Breakfast room clean, well-stock, and we had plenty of seating. They served cereal, yogurt, instant oatmeal, juice, coffee/tea, hard-boiled eggs, scrambed eggs and pancakes kept in a warmer, and fresh fruit. We booked this hotel through hotwire and don't have any complaints. Would definitely stay there
again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This Motel is 7 years old. It is independently owned by Commonwealth Hospitality Management Ltd. under a licence agreement with Super 8 Motels, Inc. It was previously a Ramada Property.

The Hotel is clean with 100 % smoke-free environment. Has received The 2008 and 2012 Housekeeping Award from Gov't of Alberta - Tourism Parks and Recreation.

The staff are friendly, accommodating, and very helpful. Always with a welcoming smile or greeting.

Rates went up $10 as of April 1, 2012. Management is good about negotiating Corporate/Group rates for multi-room bookings or longer stays.

Upon arrival Hotel requires a $200+ Credit Card Pre-authorization. Works as a room deposit and upon checkout the Pre-Authourization is either Completed or Deleted and guest can pay cash/debit.

Deluxe Complimentary Continental Breakfast is adequate. Eggs, Pancakes, Yogurts, Fresh Fruit, dry/wet cereal, bagels, toast, coffee, juices, etc. There is a Tim Horton's across the parking lot for those so inclined. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Room 424 has noisy a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked through Hotwire.com and was very pleased with the price of $58 per night. Stayed two nights. Hotel and room were clean and comfortable. Free breakfast was minimal, but to me the staff were the star. I placed pictures of my precious grandson in a drawer to keep safe and left them behind. I called the hotel and since there was someone already in the room they weren't sure if the pictures were still there. They took the trouble to find them, place them in an envelope, mark "Do not bend" all over the envelope and pop them in the mail to me. Within a week of our stay there I had my pictures in the mail and can't thank them enough! True customer service like that is unfortunately getting rare these days. It was very much appreciated!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Good hotel, good size rooms, very comfortable accommodation. Continental breakfast is more than adequate but utensils are plastic and plates etc. are expanded polystyrene. Hotel is in the middle of a one way system which is very confusing and we got lost. Downside was that the hotel overcharged by $10 a night We made our booking at Booking.com and were given a rate but after we had checked out we found the hotel had charged us $10 more than the booking rate. Have e-mailed the hotel twice but no replies.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Red Deer City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Red Deer City Centre

Address: 4217 Gaetz/50th Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4N 3Z4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 hotels in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Red Deer City Centre 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Red Deer City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Red Deer City Centre Hotel Red Deer
Ramada Red Deer
Red Deer Ramada
Super 8 Red Deer City Centre Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Red Deer City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.