We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of botaniCa Restaurant

botaniCa Restaurant
4311 49th Avenue | Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, Red Deer, Alberta T4N 5Y7, Canada
(403) 357-6304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 254 restaurants in Red Deer
Restaurant details
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The kids meals were very poor quality. My kids have eaten at a lot of restaurants but we've never had burgers that were too tough to chew.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at botaniCa Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Mike M,
Thank you for your comments regarding your last visit to Botanica Restaurant in the Red Deer Lodge Hotel. I do apologize for the dining experience that your children received and would like more information on the service recovery steps taken when the server was notified of the meal quality at the table. I have shared the comments with our Culinary team leader and it will be communicated to the entire team as the Botanica Team strive to make every dining experience a positive one. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    7
    6
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Breakfast Buffet!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Awesome breakfast buffet!!! Not a huge selection but it is a very good thing. Has all the basics (eggs, bacon, hashbrows, sausage) but they are very well cooked and kept fresh. Quick and very friendly service were a nice added bonus as well.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at botaniCa Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Andy S,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your latest visit to Botanica Restaurant. The Food & Beverage team love to hear how our guests enjoy their time in our building. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“mmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Grreat service and the staff are very helpful. The food is really good with a Sunday Bruch buffet and a lunch buffet

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at botaniCa Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Charnaw,
On behalf of the Botanica and Culinary team of the Red Deer Lodge, I want to thank you for your review of our Restaurant. I have posted your review for the team to see for themselves how well their efforts are making our guest experiences amazing.
We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truffle oil in the ravioli was amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My server had streaks of blue in her hair, but she was incredibly classy and prompt. The calimari was bland, but to be fair, I'd just come back from gorging myself on sea food in Seattle. The ravioli, however, was incredibly rich and delicious. Nice spacious tables, and quaint floor plan.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at botaniCa Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
CasualVegetarian,
Thank you for your comments concerning Botanica Restaurant and your great experience that you had. I will communicate your comments about the food to our Culinary Team as they love to hear how the food is received by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere worth seeking out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Chain of BotaniCa restaurants (I know the Edmonton and Saskatoon ones as well) know how to present good basic and some complex meals in great surroundings. Well-prepared staff. In convention facilities, so their resources are significant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed botaniCa Restaurant also viewed

Red Deer, Alberta
Red Deer, Alberta
 

Been to botaniCa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage botaniCa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.