We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4311 49th Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4N 5Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Red Deer
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

I arrived early and tried for an early check in, the first front desk clerk said there was nothing available so I went to the lounge for a couple of drinks. So after that I talked to a different front desk clerk and she put me into a King Suite which was quite nice and big with two TV's.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
41
27
7
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
StellartonNS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Lodge. For me the staff put them over the top. Their friendly helpful attitude make you want to go back time after time. They have some great new and different items on their menu in the dining room and the bar (Sharks) has an exciting atmosphere. It does need some renovations but it looks like they have started to deal with those issues.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — convenience
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2006

What a great hotel, and the staff were simply over the top. They have a Guest Experince leader who greated me in the lobby of very cold -35 degree day with a smile that made me feel warm all over. the hotel is not brand new,, and needs some reno's but they make up for it with their service.
it is good value for the money and I will for sure stay there agian

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2006

Rooms are adequate. They call themselves a business hotel and only have dial up in the rooms which is disappointing. Food is horrible, make sure you don't eat the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

I would not recomend this hotel to anyone. Disorganized staff and the room was not not made up on check-in. I cancelled my reservation, and went to the Holiday Inn. Which was awsome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

I don't understand all the negative reviews about this place. It is such a beautiful place, with wonderful rooms. I have stayed in both the Tower and the Courtyard. And the Tower is much nicer, but the courtyard's view is nicer. The courtyard, pool and Restaraunt are great. With very nice plants. The staff have done a great job at keeping the Courtyard nice.

There is also a games room, and excersise room, both are great!

The Restaraunt's Buffet is excellent. And truely there is nothing wrong with this place. Sure, it could use a bit of work here and there. But all the common places are clean!

This is the place to stay in Red Deer if you want a fancy hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

I stayed at the RDL with two other ladies. It was a girls weekend away/conference and we were looking forward to a really nice time. My friend booked this based on some reviews from 'friends' and the website pictures, what a HUGE disappointment.

We were 'upgraded' from the tower to a courtyard family suite. The check in clerk must have been new as she gave three grown women, one real bed and a set of bunkbeds! Guess where two of us slept?! The bunks were nasty to sleep on, the matress felt like a foam one from Ikea or something with an egg crate topper on it. The floor was SO dirty we didn't dare take off our shoes, beyond gross! When we first arrived our 'clean' bathroom had a toilet with yellow dots all over the seat and 'skid' marks in the bowl. After they re-cleaned it we found out the skid mark's were permanent. The tub taps dripped constantly. The room was either really hot or really cold, no happy medium. We had a beetle make a break for it, but at first we weren't sure if it was a bug or another stain on the disgusting carpet. There was at least a 2 inch gap at the bottom of the door with doesn't make me feel all that safe, and it let in A LOT of noise. You could hear every word our neighbours said, good thing it was a family or we'd have been blushing a lot. It was SO dim in our room even with all the lights on it was difficult to read a book. The pool for us was clean as was the hot tub. The only redeeming thing in the place. The pool towels were obviously the retired room towels and were threadbare and had strands falling down. For $130 a night I was horrified! I did complain and got the bill down to $93 but I will NEVER EVER EVER stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedDeerSales, Director of Sales at Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 30, 2008
The Red Deer Lodge has completed a 4 million dollar renovation of all 124 courtyard guestrooms in the summer of 2008. This renovation included new plush carpets, new modern dark wood furniture, new beds and luxurious white bedding, new wall coverings and artwork, granite vanities and tile flooring in the bathrooms. In room climate controls were installed in each guestroom to ensure the comfort of all guests.

I would invite these ladies to try us again. They may have stayed with us on a night where the only room available was the family suite. This room is perfect for families and kids love the new bunk beds, but we have many other room types that would accommodate these ladies needs much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 4311 49th Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4N 5Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Deer Hotel
Red Deer Lodge Hotel And Conference Centre Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.