We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Red Deer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Red Deer Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3310 50 Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4N 3X9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfectly nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip and had a pleasant stay in a king suite. The room had an incredibly comfortable bed, but the furnishings in the lounge and small kitchen area were pretty dull and corporate and the bedroom was a bit cramped. The room had two huge flat screen TVs and the wifi connection was excellent for a room on the 11th floor. The biggest downside to my room was that the bedroom was next to the ice and vending machines which hummed and buzzed all night!

I also had a chance to see a standard king room on the 1st floor and thought it was nicer than the suite! It definitely had a cozier and more 'friendly' feel, so choosing a standard room may be a good way to save some $ if you don't really need the extra space and facilities in the suite.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil V, General Manager at Sheraton Red Deer Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
JC_Traveller, Thank you for your review. Its great to have a guest make a recommendation on their favorite room type within our property. I have to agree with you on your recommendation of room types, if a traveler does not require a large sitting area / living room or a wet bar then our traditional rooms are a great choice. The money saved could be used to treat yourself to a delicious meal in our hotels restaurant or lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    108
    52
    20
    15
See reviews for
33
46
11
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are quite nice and the front desk staff provided adequate service. The wifi connection was awful and the noise from the drunks and the music coming from the bar left me less than impressed. Not what I've come to expect from a Sheraton Hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil V, General Manager at Sheraton Red Deer Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
I am truly story to hear of the Wi-Fi issues you experienced during your recent stay.
We have worked closely with our IT Tech over the past few months and have learned a great deal of how Wi-Fi works. There are a number of variables associated with strength of a Wi-Fi connection and we are working to narrow down these variables to ensure that our guests receive the best possible Wi-Fi connection.
I understand that sometimes a solid internet connection is necessary which is why Sheraton has invested in the Link @ Sheraton powered by Microsoft. The "Link" is a collection of hard wired computer terminals located in the lobby of our hotel for our guests to use free of charge during their stay.
I am pleased to tell you that you can look forward to a quieter stay on your next visit as we work with our security team to reduce the noise that our guests cause late at night.
Thank you once again for your review; we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S0E 0L0
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked the Sheraton Red Deer Hotel on Hotwire. It was the only hotel listed with a pool. We could not have had a more wonderful stay. We'll be back! Clean, quiet, very comfortable beds with friendly efficient people to check us in. There are places to eat in the hotel; as well, it is located near many other restaurants, fast-food and otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil V, General Manager at Sheraton Red Deer Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. Not only do we strive to provide great service and a comfortable stay; our central location makes our hotel a great place to stay for our leisure guests due to the close proximity of shopping and as you mentioned the abundance of eating options nearby. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Decided to stop in Red Deer to rest up and get a early start on quad trip. I had never stayed at the Sheraton before and thought a change was due. The staff were outsiding and very easy. With so much going on in hotel they maintain focused on making sure I got all my needs filled. Thank you Staff of the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Pick the backside as some noise from bar in front. Not bad if you are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have stayed numerous times in this hotel over the past 8 - 10 weeks. I return simply because I'm a starwood gold member and appreciate the perks that come with that. The hotel is not bad. The rooms are fine and are mostly renovated now. The front desk staff are generally fine and courteous. However, housekeeping is inconsistent. Some days you get all the standard room amenities; some days you don't. Some days the water cooler in the gym is filled; some days it's not. It seems to me that for the most part the staff are not properly trained. This is especially true for the restaurant. Often left waiting for service; waiting for bill; waiting to settle bill. The restaurant has not been busy at these times. Now I just avoid eating there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil V, General Manager at Sheraton Red Deer Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello and thank you for your repeat business.
I am working with my executive housekeeping team to see why there are inconsistencies in room cleaning.
I am truly sorry to hear that your experiences in our restaurant have been less than perfect. We are working hard to re-build our team in the restaurant due to a large amount of staff turnover. Your concerns have been brought up to our Food and Beverage team who are working on developing systems to prevent the delays in service.
I really hope that you continue to stay with us, and please reach out to me during your next stay so that I can personally meet you and ensure your overall experience is a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotwire had this Hotel as a three star but 95% satisfaction rate.
The price was wonderful and the Hotel is equivellent to a 4 star
Hotwire also had a picture of a handshake so I knew it would be a great deal
We are repeating the trip this weekend with our grand children and their parents.

Room Tip: We wanted a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is by no means a bad hotel. But it's clear it use to be owned by a number of other companies. The finishes just weren't what I would expect at some other Sheraton hotels. I did like the washroom. The shower was nice and contemporary. Service was decent..

We were there for a wedding and the wedding finished at 12am, much to everyone's chagrin. But apparently the bride and groom had thought they booked the room and bar for later, but the hotel changed that and didn't inform them.

Room Tip: Away from the front where the two nightclubs are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil V, General Manager at Sheraton Red Deer Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us!
As you noticed our guest rooms and hotel lobby have recently undergone an extensive $12 Million renovation. Our lobby and guestrooms are 100% compliable with Sheraton Standards featuring the latest and greatest.
You mentioned that the wedding bar was closed early without knowledge of the bride and groom. This is not how we typically run business and our special events bars typically do last call at 1:00 am and allow consumption until 2:00 am.
Can you please have the bride and groom connect with their wedding coordinator so that we can discuss what the miscommunication was?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Red Deer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Red Deer Hotel

Address: 3310 50 Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4N 3X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Red Deer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Red Deer with easy access to highway 2, Sheraton Red Deer Hotel has completed a $12 Million renovation to all of our 241 guestrooms and suites as well as our grand new lobby, 24 Hour Sheraton Fitness Centre and brand new business centre. With two restaurants and two lounges onsite as well as 24 hour in room dining, finding the perfect atmosphere to fit your mood is only steps away. At Sheraton, you are much more than just a traveller. You can be comfortable being yourself. Even far from home, you are able to connect with what matters most through our signature spaces, amenities and services. No matter where you are around the world, at Sheraton we believe that life is better when shared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Red Deer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Centre Hotel
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Red Deer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.