We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad smell of the bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Leva Ave, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, British Columbia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad smell of the bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed this Hotel...for Christmas visit to my family....I choose this Hotel it is number 1.....but what surprise me is the smell of the bathroom.... Smell like it never been properly clean...that foul smell that is so disgusting I think it from a urine....like really the house keeping just wipe it off with paper....what....this is not acceptable...people... Do your job or else some guest will figure it out....soon ....and I never used that bowl ever coz feels so dirty to me....the floor is sticky....and ugggh I can stand it....check out early...I will never ever come this Hotel....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay here and we are very sorry for the unpleasant odor and cleanliness issue you experienced during your stay. We have fixed the restroom issues and have addressed the overall state of cleanliness with our housekeepers. We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can have another chance at showing you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.

Thank you,


Barry Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    94
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
104
77
13
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Standard good Hilton chain hotel. I have come to enjoy staying in these hotels as they are good value for money and the Hilton Honors program is excellent. I have stayed in this hotel several times and the staff are friendly and provide excellent service for me as a guest. Just know that if you decide to stay in this hotel you will need to drive to any location in Red Deer as it is at the edge of the city limits.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Barry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice in one week. We stayed here on our way to B.C and on our way back as well! This is a great family friendly hotel and it's very well maintained! I am a germ-a- phob and this hotel met my standards...lol. The free hot breakfast is not bad either!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome your family and appreciate your business. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our Guests. Thanks again for choosing us!

Barry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our company uses this hotel whenever we have business in Red Deer. The front desk staff, sales manager and General Manager represent the hospitality industry wonderfully! The rooms are wonderful. The hotel breakfast is amazing. I have used the fitness room and it has a decent variety of equipment. My only disappointment came when I stayed at work very late and there were no fresh baked cookies left by the time I returned to my room!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for staying with us at our hotel. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you foud our staff and managment team represented the hotel industy wonderfully! I’ll be sure to share your comments with them. See you soon,


Barry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We've been to several Hampton Inns and the cleanliness and freshness of their rooms are the most appealing. This Red Deer location is no exception. Their prices are very reasonable for what you get. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at this location - one of the best actually of all the Hamptons we've been at and they were all good. There was a lot of variety in both hot and cold items, and very plentiful so you don't feel like you are lapping up their crumbs like at some other hotels. If you happen to be in a rush, they also have breakfast packages on a tray at the front so you can literally grab a bag and go - so convenient!

The only point that prevents me from giving this particular location five stars is the lack of water volume. It was one thing to have a low-flush toilet - a bit annoying as it doesn't feel like residue is being flushed out properly so I end up flushing multiple times anyways. Both the sink faucet and the showerhead/tub faucet barely dribbled, so it didn't feel very refreshing even after a shower.

The front desk made sure to let me know that "you don't pay if you are not 100% satisfied" upon checking in. Although our experience wasn't 100% because of the water pressure, I certainly would not consider not paying!! Everything else amounted to an excellent experience. I would give them another try next time we need to stay in Red Deer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I just wanted to say thanks for your recent stay here at our hotel! I’m so glad you were
able to experience our warm Hamptonality. I appreciate you letting us know about your experience with the water pressure and will be personally looking in to a resolution a .We can’t wait to see you again soon.


Barry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Nice ,clean hotel,but the service was terrible. we had a problem with the reservation,they gave us different room not the one we reserved. have to wait long time to solve the problem. Finally we left the hotel and didnt stay overnight. Staff didnt informed us about 100% satisfaction .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay here and we are very sorry for the mixup in your reservation you experienced during your stay.I have discussed with the staff the issues that you had to experience during your stay and as a team we have come up with a resolution so no guest ever experiences this again. We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can have another chance at showing you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.

Thank you,

Barry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destruction Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Love the room and the staff are nice was a good stay over all spent 5 nights free breakfast was good my only complaint is clean your highchairs every day we would go for breakfast we would need to clean them before we could but the baby in them sorry this was just nasty

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. Here at our hotel we are very happy to hear to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and I will let team know that they helped make your trip great! Thank you for bringing your concern to us about the high chairs I have implemented new cleaning procedures and hope that no one will experience this again We hope to see you again soon.


Barry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer

Address: 128 Leva Ave, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Red Deer
#1 Family Hotel in Red Deer
#1 Business Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a tranquil setting midway between Calgary and Edmonton, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ Red Deer hotel is located at the south end of the city in "Gasoline Alley", a popular stop for passers-through, loaded with restaurants, cafés and pubs. We're also within walking distance to the Galaxy Cinemas, Westerner Grounds and less than 10 minutes from the downtown area and only five minutes from the Red Deer Regional Airport. Nicknamed "Park City", this area is abundant in walking, hiking, biking and horseback riding trails and offers plenty of unspoiled areas great for snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, bird watching and more. Get a taste of Red Deer's frontier heritage at Heritage Square and Fort Normandeau. Bask in the beauty of St. Mary's Church. Do some fishing at Sylvan or Gull lakes. Tee up at Alberta Springs Golf Course, just five miles away. Learn about some of Canada's best athletes at the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame, about 10 minutes from our hotel in Red Deer. How you spend your time is up to you! Discover a quaint rural setting with top urban amenities at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Red Deer Hotel Red Deer
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Red Deer
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Red Deer Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.