We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Orchid Room

Thai Orchid Room
3-36 Strachan Court SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4R7, Canada
403-580-8210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 157 restaurants in Medicine Hat
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Four of us went on a Tuesday night. Service was excellent. Atmosphere is upscale and pleasant. The food was very good. I had the sea bass which was very good. Sauces, rice and vegetables all excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    112
    14
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Left Hungry :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just left this restaurant and we are not happy :( We have eaten at many similar places and this was not in the top 20. We started with the coconut shrimp and it was just ok. My husband had the hot and sour soup which he said was just ok as well. I ordered the Mahi Mahi. It came with a salad and asparagus on the plate that was smothered in about an inch think blanket of sauce. The batter was soggy. Probably cause it was soaking in a plate full of sauce. I maybe had taken 3 - 4 bites sent it back and they kept it on the bill. I paid $23 for a meal I didn't eat! Overall we paid $55 for our meal and were completely unsatisfied!!! Went to Tim Hortons after. The service however was good. Food... Not so much :(

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sounantha, Owner at Thai Orchid Room, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our establishment. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your visit with us. My husband and owner, Ken, spent some time with you both showing you our featured seafood dishes as well as many other dishes via the IPAD. You mentioned your husband was a "meat and potatoes" kind of guy, did not like spicy food, and had never had Thai cuisine before. You, on the other hand, said you had been in with a group for lunch a while back. Ken mentioned that your husband should try our Friday night's feature: Thai BBQ Chicken with Pork Back Ribs. This would have been a very good dish for your husband to "ease" into Thai food, as we have many guests compliment on how wonderfully flavorful and well done it is. (At most, a "safe" dish for someone who has no experience with Thai food.) But alas, you did not take Ken's recommendation. We are sincerely sorry if you felt the food was not up to your standards.

Your server, as well as Ken, more than once did a quality check throughout the meal with you and your husband, and nothing was mentioned about the Mahi until the very end of the meal. Had you said something before, we would have gladly made you something else that would have been more appealing to your palate. We most certainly do not want our guests to leave hungry! On a last note, it is wise to take recommendations from your server/and or owner(s) about the food, if you've had limited experience, to avoid disappointment. We only sincerely want our guests to enjoy their time with us and leave feeling satisfied!
~Kop Koon Ka~
Sou and Ken Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mahi, Mahi... excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I ordered the Mahi, Mahi for our anniversary!I t was so good and set up a craving to order it again right away; that is if I had had the room I would have done so! A totally awesome meal. My husband had the shrimp stuffed pork and said he really enjoyed it as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sounantha, Owner at Thai Orchid Room, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
How wonderful to hear you enjoyed your anniversary dinner! Thank-you for choosing Thai Orchid Room to celebrate your special occasion. We hope to serve you again in the near future, and wish you many, many more happy anniversaries together in the years to come!

~Kop Koon Ka~
Sou and Ken Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Uist, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

such an extensive menu, specials were displayed by the owner on a tablet which was unusual to say the least, quality good and the seafood great but the accompanying sauces a little over powering. Liked the food, service and the staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sounantha, Owner at Thai Orchid Room, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to post a review of our establishment! We have found that by engaging our guests with actual pictures of our menu, through the use of an I-PAD, our guests have a better idea of what they may want to order (if they are new to our restaurant) and thus gives us a chance to really showcase our unique cuisine! Guests are always extremely delighted once they receive their meal, that they will exclaim, "Wow! It looks just like in the picture!" We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
~Kop Koon Ka~
Sou and Ken Boss, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Love Thai food, almost like being in Thailand again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Had mussels for the first time here and was not disappointed. What flavor! I've been here 7 times in a week and a half. Just can't get away from the peanut butter curry. My fave Thai restaurant by far!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sounantha, Owner at Thai Orchid Room, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to review our establishment! We are greatly appreciative of your positive feedback and welcome you back on your next visit!
~Kop Koon Ka~
Sou and Ken Boss, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid Room also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Orchid Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.